Built To Spill confronts new 'Enemy'

Warner Bros. album out Oct. 6

NEW YORK -- On the heels of an acclaimed 2008 tour where it performed its 1997 album "Perfect From Now On" in its entirety, Built To Spill will return this fall with its seventh studio release, "There Is No Enemy."

Due Oct. 6 from Warner Bros., the 11-track set goes heavy on the band's trademark epic rockers (the seven-minute "Done," the nearly eight-minute, layered guitar jam "Tomorrow") but also includes the two-minute-and-40-second "Pat," the punkiest song Built To Spill has released in years and a clear nod to frontman Doug Martsch's beloved pre-BTS band, Treepeople.

Elsewhere, opener "Aisle 13" and the road-tested "Good Ol' Boredom" are sturdy mid-tempo rockers that pile on the guitar effects, while "Life's a Dream" dabbles in late-period Beatles-style atmospherics and "Oh Yeah" kicks up a Crazy Horse-worthy sludge.

Martsch previously told Billboard that "Planting Seeds" is "a real conventional kind of pop/rock song. It reminds me of a Tom Petty song or something, but it probably doesn't sound anything like that."

Built To Spill will showcase the new songs on an extensive tour, which stops in Troutdale, Ore., tomorrow (Aug. 20). This fall, the band will play multiple-night stands in a number of North American cities, including a four-show run in mid-October in Manhattan and Brooklyn, N.Y.

Here is the track list for "There Is No Enemy":

"Aisle 13"
"Nowhere Lullaby"
"Good Ol' Boredom"
"Life's a Dream"
"Oh Yeah"
"Planting Seeds"
"Things Fall Apart"