Canadian directors vie for guild award

Directors Guild of Canada honor bestowed in the fall

TORONTO -- David Cronenberg ("Eastern Promises"), Denys Arcand ("The Age of Darkness"), Jeremy Podeswa ("Fugitive Pieces") and Kari Skogland ("The Stone Angel") will compete for the best director trophy at the Directors Guild of Canada Awards in the fall, organizers said Monday.

The Canadian guild, which honors product shot by Canadians, also awarded noms in the best telefilm or miniseries category to David Wu for "Iron Road," Ken Girotti for "Mayerthorpe," John N. Smith for "The Englishman's Boy" and Quebec helmer Charles Biname for "The Trojan Horse."

The TV series competition will see Stephen Surjik compete for his work on "Intelligence," Holly Dale for "Durham County," James Marshall with "Smallville" and Martin Wood for "Stargate Atlantis."

The DGC awards will be handed out Nov. 8 in Toronto.