Canadian Screenwriting Awards unveiled


TORONTO -- "Corner Gas," Canada's most popular TV sitcom, earned writers Mark Farrell and Robert Sheridan top honors for best half-hour comedy as the 2008 Canadian Screenwriting Awards were handed out here Monday night.

Denis McGrath and Robert Wertheimer grabbed the writing trophy for best one-hour drama for "Across the River to Motor City," while Travis McDonald picked up the movie script award for his work on Carl Bessai's "Normal."

Organized by the Writers Guild of Canada, the show also saw Peter Mohan (Blood Ties, Mutant X) awarded the prize for top showrunner.

A complete list of winners follows:

Best children and preschool
Kenn Scott, Iggy Arbuckle "Petition Impossible"

Best documentary

Barri Cohen, "Toxic Trespass"

Best half-hour drama

Mark Farrell, Robert Sheridan, Corner Gas, "Seeing Things"

Best one-hour drama

Denis Mcgrath and Robert Wertheimer, Across The River To Motor City, "Happy Birthday, Mr. President"

Best feature film

Travis McDonald, "Normal"

Best TV movie of the week or miniseries

Ian Weir, "Dragon Boys"; written by Ian Weir

Best radio drama

Jason Sherman, Adam Pettle, Greg Nelson, "Afghanada"

Best variety

Kevin White, Mark Critch, Irwin Barker, Gavin Crawford, Gary Pearson, Jennifer Whalen, Carolyn Taylor, Albert Howell, Dave Nystrom, Geri Hall, Todd Allen, Tim Mcauliffe, This Hour Has 22 Minutes, "Episode 17"

Best youth

Brent Piaskoski, Naturally Sadie, "In or Out of Africa"