Candidates for SAG board set

Rival factions to square off for positions

The Screen Actors Guild released its official list of national officer and board candidates Monday night.

The candidates for national president are Seymour Cassel, Ken Howard, Anne-Marie Johnson and Asmar Muhammad. Howard represents the top of the Unite for Strength party ticket, and Johnson, the current 1st national vp, represents the top of the MembershipFirst party ticket.

Cassel narrowly lost to current outgoing president Alan Rosenberg, also a MembershipFirst stalwart, in 2007.

The candidates for secretary-treasurer are Amy Aquino and Connie Stevens. Aquino is a member of the U4S slate and Stevens is a member of the MF slate.

Both the president and secretary-treasurer positions carry two-year terms.

Approximately one-third of the 69 national board seats are open for election this year.

Ballots will be mailed to all eligible SAG members August 25, and they must be returned by Sept. 24. Election results are expected to be announced that evening.