Cannes: Cinefondation Selection Winner Announced

Courtesy of Cannes Film Festival

Second prize was awarded to Chilean director Ignacio Juricic Merillan for 'Locas Perdidas.'

The 18th Cinefondation Selection winners were announced Friday, May 22, with the top prize going to American Pippa Bianco for Share.  

The jury, led by director of the Oscar-nominated Timbuktu Abderrahmane Sissako, included French actress Cecile De France, Joana Hadjithomas, Daniel Olbrychski and French director Rebecca Zlotowski.

Cinefondation prizes are awarded to student films. Bianco's prizewinner was from AFI’s directing workshop for women.

Second prize was awarded to Chilean director Ignacio Juricic Merillan for Locas Perdidas.

The third prize was awarded jointly to Maria Guskova for The Return of Erkin and Spain’s Garrido Lopez for Victor XX.

The Cinefondation awards prizes to student films. This year it selected 18 student films, chosen out of 1,593 entries from 381 film schools around the world.

The awarded films will receive €15,000 for the First Prize, €11,250 for the Second and €7,500 for the Third. The First Prize winner is also guaranteed that her first feature film will be presented at the Festival de Cannes.

The 2015 Cinefondation prizes were given out during a ceremony held in the Bunuel Theatre, followed by the screening of the winning films.

The top prizes for the main selection will be awarded on Sunday night during the closing ceremony at the Palais des Festivals in Cannes. Jury presidents Joel and Ethan Coen will announce the winners.