Cannes Adds Quentin Tarantino's 'Once Upon a Time in Hollywood' to Competition Lineup

The addition will bring Brad Pitt, Leonardo DiCaprio and Margot Robbie to the red carpet, while films from Abdellatif Kechiche and Gael Garcia Bernal will also join the fest slate.

Quentin Tarantino's highly anticipated Once Upon a Time in Hollywood will have its world premiere at the upcoming Cannes Film Festival, the film festival announced Thursday.

The addition means that Brad Pitt, Leonardo DiCaprio and Margot Robbie will be adding a burst of star power to this year's festival.

The film had been expected in the original lineup, which was unveiled April 18, but artistic director Thierry Fremaux told reporters that day that the film wasn't ready.

In an interview with The Hollywood Reporter, Fremaux said he was “really, really, really focused” on Tarantino finishing the film in time to make the festival. He compared the director to Orson Welles and Martin Scorsese and said Tarantino was part of the Cannes family.

While Fremaux had hinted there would be one or two titles added to the lineup, he revealed a slew of films in the announcement Thursday.

Alongside Tarantino, Palme d'Or winner Abdellatif Kechiche will also be in competition with the second part of his Mektoub, My Love epic series. The Intermezzo installment of the young love story will unspool at four hours. 

Out of competition, Gaspar Noe's mid-length Lux Aeterna starring Charlotte Gainsbourg and Beatrice Dalle will take a midnight screening berth, apropos for his story about witches.

Gael Garcia Bernal's Chicuarotes will join the fest lineup as a special screening, alongside Patricio Guzman's La Cordillera de los Suenos, Leila Conners's Ice on Fire and Dan Krauss's Ward 5B.

Lorenzo Mattotti's La Famosa Invasione Degli Orsi in Sicilia and Larissa Sadilova's Odnazhdy v Trubchevske will join the Un Certain Regard lineup.

Festival regular Tarantino — who won the Palme d'Or for 1994's Pulp Fiction, screened 2007's Death Proof and 2009's Inglorious Basterds in competition in Cannes and served as president of the jury last year — will join Pedro Almodovar, Terrence Malick and Ken Loach among the famed directors in this year's lineup.