Cannes: Apsara Distribution Gets Asia Rights to Harrison Ford's 'Paranoia' (Exclusive)

FILM: Harrison Ford

Harrison Ford (UTA, Ziffren Brittenham) and Abigail Breslin (ICM, Untitled, Lichter Grossman) have joined "Ender's Game," the Summit/OddLot sci-fi adaptation of the novel by Orson Scott Card. Asa Butterfield ("Hugo") stars. Gavin Hood wrote the script and is directing.

The pan-Asian arm of IM Global also takes "Lone Survivor," starring Mark Wahlberg, among other titles.

Apsara Distribution, the pan-Asian rights buying arm of IM Global, has snapped up a slew of high-profile Cannes market titles to feed the pipe.

The company has a deal with Buena Vista International in selected territories Hong Kong, Indonesia, Singapore, Philippines, Malaysia, Thailand, Taiwan, Vietnam and Cambodia.

Titles secured by Apsara include Lone Survivor, starring Mark Wahlberg, and Paranoia with Liam Hemsworth and Harrison Ford.

It also took the feature Pele, about the soccer legend, for India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka and 1, the Formula One racing doc with Michael Fassbender narrating in the same territories.

STORY: Cannes Crime Spree Continues With More Burglaries, Physical Attacks

The slew of deals reflects the power of the deal IM Global and Buena Vista International struck across South East Asia and beyond, a region widely regarded as enjoying explosive growth.

Apsara vp of acquisitions Ben Rekhi said: "The sellers all understand our releasing potential, via Buena Vista International and Reliance, and our bankability now so the product is really starting to flow. We anticipate stepping up our buying activity even further in Toronto and at AFM."

Martin Scorsese's Silence will also be distributed via Apsara in Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

The distributor also has Selfless in Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan and Thailand), Stretch for China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Philippines and Thailand and Autobahn for Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan and Thailand.