Cannes: 'Blue Is the Warmest Color' Wins Palme d’Or

Blue is the Warmest Color Still - H 2013

Blue is the Warmest Color Still - H 2013

Bruce Dern wins Best Actor for "Nebraska," Amat Escalante named Best Director for "Heli" at the closing ceremony.

See The Hollywood Reporter's Live at Cannes video interviews with the winners below.

CANNES --  Abdellatif Kechiche's Blue Is The Warmest Color took the Palme d'Or at the closing ceremony for the festival.

PHOTOS: Inside the Cannes Awards Ceremony

Mistress of ceremonies Audrey Tautou presided over the event, while one of the most illustrious juries in recent memory handed out the awards. President Steven Spielberg and his jury of Oscar winners Nicole Kidman, Ang Lee and Christoph Waltz along with Daniel Auteuil, Cristian Mungiu, Lynne Ramsay, Vidya Balan and Naomi Kawase picked the prizes from this year’s selection of 20 films. 

VIDEO: Live From Cannes: The Cast and Crew of ‘Blue is the Warmest Color’

Blue Is The Warmest Color took the top honors with the Palme d'Or.  After a presentation by actress Uma Thruman, Spielberg read the announcement, stating that the jury had taken the "exceptional step" of awarding it not just to director  Abdellatif Kechichebut to actresses Adele Exarchopoulos and Lea Seydoux as well.  The unusual step to acknowledge the main actors is perhaps unprecedented, but elicited cheers from the crowd.  The teary actresses took the stage with their director.  

The runner-up Grand Prize went to Inside Llewyn Davis, though the Cohen brothers were not on hand to accept.  

Amat Escalante took the Best Director prize for Heli, the ultra-violent tale set in modern Mexico.  He sent a message to the Mexican people during his speech.  "I hope we never get used to the suffering," he said of the violence depicted in the film about the drugs and corruption that have plagued the country.   

Chinese director Jia Zhangke took the Best Screenplay prize for A Touch of Sin.  "China is changing so fast that film is the best way to look for freedom," he said.

A visibly shaken Berenice Bejo received the Best Actress prize, while also tearily calling her director to join her on stage.  "Everything I have done is thanks to you."  Bruce Dern won the Best Actor prize, though he was not on hand to accept.  

A complete list is below:

Palme d’Or: Abdellatif Kechiche, Blue Is The Warmest Color

Grand Prix: Coen Brothers, Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Director: Amat Escalante, Heli 

Best Screenplay: Jia Zhangke, A Touch of Sin

Best Actress: Berenice Bejo, The Past

Best Actor: Bruce DernNebraska 

Jury Prize: Hirokazu Kore-edaLike Father, Like Son 

Camera d'Or: Anthony ChenIlo Ilo

The ceremony was followed by a screening of closing film Zulu, premiering out of competition, and a private beach-side dinner where actors mingled in a VIP room.