Cannes Film Fest Adds Sofia Coppola, Willem Dafoe, Nicolas Winding Refn to Competition Jury

Mike Coppola/Getty Images
Sofia Coppola

UPDATED: Last year's best screenplay winner, Zhangke Jia from China, also will join the Jane Campion-led jury.

PARIS – With Palme d'Or-winning director Jane Campion previously announced as the jury president for the 67th edition of the Cannes film festival, organizers announced an eclectic mix of Cannes regulars and international actors to round out the main competition jury Monday morning.

This year's jurors will be director Sofia Coppola and actor Willem Dafoe representing the U.S. French actress Carole Bouquet, South Korean actress Do-yeon Jeon, Iranian actress Leila Hatami, Mexican actor Gael Garcia Bernal, Chinese director Jia Zhangke, and Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn.

Festival regulars Coppola and Winding Refn will make return appearances to the Croisette. Winding Refn took home the best director prize for the Ryan Gosling vehicle Drive in 2011, and he returned with Only God Forgives in official competition last year.

PHOTOS: Cannes: Steven Spielberg, Nicole Kidman Attend Awards Ceremony

Oscar-winner Coppola made her debut in 1999 with The Virgin Suicides in the Directors' Fortnight sidebar, brought Marie Antoinette to the main competition category in 2006 and opened the Un Certain Regard sidebar last year with The Bling Ring.

Jia won the best screenplay nod at last year's festival for A Touch of Sin. His Unknown Pleasures played in the main competition in 2002 and he returned to the Palais in 2009 with 24 City.

"Cannes has always sought to adopt a universal and international approach, and in tune with this tradition, Campion will be surrounded by eight luminaries of world cinema, from China, Korea, Denmark, Iran, the United States, France and Mexico," festival organizers said in the announcement.

On the acting side, Jeon won the Cannes best actress prize for her portrayal of a grieving mother in Lee Chang-dong's Secret Sunshine in 2007.

PHOTOS: Star-Studded 2013 Jury Lands in Cannes

Two-time Oscar nominee Dafoe will also return to Cannes, having last appeared at the festival in Lars von Trier's controversial Antichrist in 2009.

Actor Garcia Bernal was first noticed in Cannes as the winner of the Chopard trophy for male revelation in 2003, and presented his directorial debut, Deficit, in the Critics' Week sidebar in 2007.

Actress Bouquet first made her mark as a Bond girl in 1981's For Your Eyes Only and went on to win a best actress Cesar for Bertrand Blier's Trop belle pour toi. She next appears in the miniseries remake of Rosemary's Baby. 

Hatami  starred in Iranian director Asghar Farhadi's A Separation in 2011, which won the best foreign-film Oscar, Golden Globe and Cesar that year.