Cannes Film Festival Unveils Full Jury

Kirsten Dunst - H 2016
Gregg DeGuire/WireImage

Kirsten Dunst and Donald Sutherland are among those that will join president George Miller on the jury.

Jury president George Miller will be joined by a bevy of past prize winners on this year's Cannes Film Festival jury.

American actress Kirsten Dunst, who won the best actress prize at Cannes for Melancholia in 2011 and starred in Sofia Coppola's Marie Antoinette (2006), and Danish actor Mads Mikkelsen, who won the best actor prize four years ago for his performance in The Hunt, are among those who will walk the red carpet with the Mad Max helmer.

Hungarian director Laszlo Nemes — whose first feature Son of Saul was a major surprise last year, winning the fest's Grand Prize and going on to win the best foreign-language film Oscar — also will be on this year's panel. Festival director Thierry Fremaux told The Hollywood Reporter that that film was "the biggest revelation" for him last year.

Italian multihyphenate Valeria Golina, probably best known to American audiences for her role in Rain Man but known in her native Italy as an actress, director and writer, also will be on the Cannes jury. Her Honey appeared in the Un Certain Regard section in 2013 and took home the Ecumenical Jury prize.

Legendary actor Donald Sutherland and French actress Vanessa Paradis also have been named to the panel..

Cannes regular Arnaud Desplechin, the Cesar-winning French filmmaker that has had five movies in the main competition and last year's My Golden Days in the Un Certain Regard sidebar, also will join.

Iranian producer Katayoon Shahabi will round out the jury. Shahabi produced From Iran, A Separation, a documentary following the political reactions after Asghar Farhadi won the Oscar for his 2011 film A Separation.

Farhadi's latest film, A Salesman, was added to the competition lineup just last week. As previously announced, Miller will head up the jury. The Cannes Film Festival is set to run May 11-24.