Cannes: Sabine Azema Named Golden Camera Jury President

Cannes Film Festival 2015 Official Poster - H 2015
Courtesy of Cannes Film Festival

Cannes Film Festival 2015 Official Poster - H 2015

The French actress will head up the jury that honors the best first film across the festival's sections.

Cesar winner Sabine Azema will get behind the Golden Camera, or Camera d’Or, as president of the jury that selects the best first film of all the official selections during the Cannes Film Festival.

On the jury, she will be accompanied by director Delphine Gleize (Carnages) and Cesar-nominated actor Melvil Poupaud (Laurence Anyways). Cinematographer Claude Garnier (Not Here to be Loved), writer-director Yann Gonzalez (You and the Night), critic and Cinematheque programmer Bernard Payen and Technicolor exec Didier Huck will also be on the jury, representing various French film trade associations.

The French actress is best known for her work with famed director Alain Resnais.

The Camera d’Or is given to the best first film on display during the festival, including the Official Selection, Un Certain Regard, Critics’ Week and the Directors’ Fortnight sidebars. This year, there are 26 films in the running for the prize, which is awarded during the main ceremony on May 24.

Previous winners of the award include Jim Jarmusch, Mira Nair, Naomi Kawase and Steve McQueen