Cannes: Iranian Director Abbas Kiarostami to Head Short Film, Cinefondation Juries

Abbas Kiarostami

The rest of the judges are directors Noemie Lvovsky, Mahamat-Saleh Haroun, Joachim Trier, and Daniela Thomas.

PARIS -- Iranian director Abbas Kiarostami is returning to Cannes in 2014, this time as the president of the short film and Cinefondation jury.

The Palme d'Or-winning director will head the five-member jury of Noemie Lvovsky, Mahamat-Saleh Haroun, Joachim Trier, and Daniela Thomas.

PHOTOS: 50 Never-Before-Seen Portraits From Cannes (Exclusives)

Kiarostami'sTaste of Cherry won the festival's top prize in 1997, while his other works have consistently appeared in competition, with Ten in 2002, Like Someone in Love in 2012, and Certified Copy, which won Juliette Binoche the best actress prize in 2010. He was a member of the main jury in 1993 and the Camera d'Or jury in 2002 and 2005. He's been involved with the Cinefondation section as a patron since its inception in 1998.

Lvovsky's Camille Rewinds took home the SACD prize at Cannes in 2012, where it competed in the Director's Fortnight sidebar. It went on to be nominated for 13 Cesars -- the French version of the Oscars -- the following year.

France-based Chadian director Haroun is also a Cannes regular, with his latest film, Grisgris, in the main competition at last year's festival and his 2010 feature, A Screaming Man, the winner of the jury prize in 2010. He served on the main competition jury in 2011.

PHOTOS: Cannes 2013: Steven Spielberg, Nicole Kidman Attend Awards Ceremony

Trier, writer and director of Oslo, 31 August, will make his first appearance on a Cannes jury since his film appeared in the Un Certain Regard sidebar in 2011.

Brazilian Thomas co-directed Linha de Pass, which screened in competition at Cannes in 2008.

The Cinefondation, which awards student films, will be announced on May 22, and the short film winners will be announced during the main award ceremony on May 24.