Cannes: Short Film and Cinefondation Selections Announced

Cannes poster - P 2013

Jane Campion will preside over both juries.

Just two days before Thierry Fremaux is to reveal the Competition slate for this year's Cannes Film Festival, the organization released the short film and Cinefondation selections late Tuesday.

The short film committee made its selections out of 3,500 submissions from 132 countries this year. The nine films will compete for the Short Film Palme d’Or, which will be awarded by jury president Jane Campion at the closing ceremony May 26. The short films are:

STORY: Cannes: Which Films Won't Make It to the French Riviera This Year?

Ali Asgari’s More Than Two Hours (Iran), Gudmundur Arnar Gudmundsson’s Whale Valley (Iceland, Denmark), Omoi Sasaki’s The Metorite and Impotence (Japan), Gilles Coulier’s Mont Blanc (Belgium), Elzbieta Benkowska’s Olena (Poland), Annarita Zambrano’s Ophelia (France), Byounggon Moon’s Safe (South Korea) and Adriano Valerio’s 37º 4 S (France). It also marks the first time a Palestinian film is in competition, with Mohammed and Ahmad Abou Nasser’s Condom Lead.

The 18 Cinefondation Selections also were announced after being selected from 1,550 submissions from 277 film schools around the world. The 18 films encompass 14 fiction films and four animated films. 

The selections are Evgeny Byalo’s The Norm of Life (Russia), Ana Caro’s The Magnificent Lion Boy (U.K), Eliska Chytkova’s Ham Story (Czech Republic), Nvaia Danesh’s Duet (Iran), Gan de Lange’s Babaga (Israel), Anahita Ghazvinizadeh’s Needle (USA), Sarah Hirtt’s Waiting for the Thaw (Belgium), Alejandro Iglesias Mendizabal’s Fabl of a Blood Drained Girl (Mexico), Joey Izzo’s Stepsister (U.S.), Zhi Wei Jow’s After the Winter (France), Tudor Christian Jurgiu’s In the Fishbowl (Romania), Soo-Jin Kim’s The Line (South Korea), Camila Luna Toledo’s Asuncion (Chile), Jefferson Moneo’s Going South (U.S.), Malgorzat Zanek’s Dance Macabre (Poland), Sebastian Schjaer’s Tomorrow All the Things (Argentina), Vladilen Viery’s Exile (France) and Matus Vizar’s Pandas (Czech Republic). 

The Cinefondation prizes will be awarded in a special ceremony May 24.