Cannes: 'Winter Sleep' Wins the Palme d'Or

'Winter Sleep,' Nuri Bilge Ceylan (Competition)

The marathon title in this year's competition. Clocking in at three hours and 15 minutes, Ceylan's latest slow-burning drama will not be for the faint of heart, but the Turkish auteur has proven in the past he can deliver the goods. His last Cannes competition entry, Once Upon a Time in Anatolia, won the 2011 Jury Grand Prix (an honor he also took in 2002 for Distant) and his 2008 feature Three Monkeys won Ceylan the director's prize. Many think Ceylan is overdue for the Palme d'Or and Winter Sleep might be the film to give it to him. 

UPDATED: Julianne Moore took best actress for "Maps to the Stars" while Bennett Miller nabbed best director for "Foxcatcher."

After 11 days of films, the Cannes Film Festival wrapped up Saturday night with the closing ceremony. The top prize, the Palme d'Or, went to Winter Sleep.

VIDEOS: Cannes: Steve Carell, Marion Cotillard, Cate Blanchett Preview Their Upcoming Movies

President Jane Campion and her jury including Sofia Coppola, Willem Dafoe, Nicolas Winding Refn and Gael Garcia Bernal picked the prizes from this year’s selection of 18 films in competition. Iconic French actor Lambert Wilson served as master of ceremonies at the event.

Cannes Film Festival president Gilles Jacob, who will step down after this year, received a long standing ovation at the event.

Pulp Fiction director Quentin Tarantino and star Uma Thurman, in town for a 20th anniversary celebration of their film, announced the winner of the Palme d'Or. Winter Sleep, directed by Turkish filmmaker Nuri Bilge Ceylan, is an epic story of a marriage starring Haluk Bilginer, Melisa Sozen and Demet Akbag.

Ceylan dedicated his award "to the young people of Turkey who have lost their lives during the last year," and thanked the festival's Thierry Fremaux and Jacob for supporting "such a long film." (The film was the longest in the competition at 3 hours, 16 minutes.)

The runner-up Grand Prize went to The Wonders (Les Merveilles), a coming-of-age story set in the Northern Italian countryside, by director Alice Rohrwacher.

Foxcatcher helmer Bennett Miller won for best director. His film, based on a true, tragic story, stars Channing Tatum, Steve Carell and Mark Ruffalo.

The jury prize was given to two films: Mommy by Xavier Dolan and Goodbye to Language by Jean-Luc Godard. Dolan, who is 25 years old, had his two previous films also play in Cannes, in the Directors’ Fortnight and Un Certain Regard sections. He gave an emotional speech, and specifically thanked Campion for the influence The Piano has had over his work, inspiring him to write roles for strong women, "not victims, not objects."

PHOTOS: Cannes: THR's Photo Portfolio With Cate Blanchett, Channing Tatum, James McAvoy

Timothy Spall, the star of Mike Leigh’s biopic Mr. Tuner, won the best actor prize. The film centers on the life of British painter J.M.W. Turner. The actor was moved to tears while delivering his acceptance speech, was was briefly interrupted by his beeping cellphone.

"I've often been a bridesmaid and this is the first time I have ever been a bride," he told the audience. "This is a lifelong collaboration with Mike Leigh and this is as much an accolade for Mr. Leigh as me."

Julianne Moore, who was absent from the ceremony, won best actress for her role in David Cronenberg's Maps to the Stars.

Leviathan's writers Andrey Zvyagintsev and Oleg Negin won for best screenplay. The film, from Russian director Andrey Zvyagintsev, was picked up by Sony Pictures Classics for U.S. release earlier on Saturday.

The Camera d'Or, awarded to the best first feature by a director, went to Party Girl, which opened the Un Certain Regard section. It was written and directed by the trio of Marie Amachoukeli, Claire Burger and Samuel Theis.

A complete list of winners is below, with links to THR's reviews.

Palme d’Or: Nuri Bilge Ceylan, Winter Sleep

Grand Prix: Alice Rohrwacher,  The Wonders

  Jury Prize: Xavier Dolan, Mommy, and Jean-Luc Godard, Goodbye to Language

Best Director: Bennett Miller, Foxcatcher

Best Screenplay: Andrey Zvyagintsev and Oleg Negin, Leviathan

Best Actress: Julianne Moore, Maps to the Stars

Best Actor: Timothy Spall, Mr. Turner

Camera d'Or: Marie Amachoukeli, Claire Burger and Samuel Theis, Party Girl