Career honors span musical boundaries


Gene Autry, the Blind Boys of Alabama, the Four Tops, Hank Jones, Brenda Lee, Dean Martin and Tom Paxton will receive the Recording Academy's Lifetime Achievement Award next year.

The honors will be handed out at a ceremony Feb. 7 and acknowledged during the Grammy Awards the next night.

George Avakian, Elliott Carter and Allen Toussaint will receive the Trustees Award, and Clarence "Leo" Fender and Universal Audio will receive the Technical Grammy Award.

"This year's recipients … have made lasting contributions to the music and global communities," Recording Academy chief Neil Portnow said. "Their outstanding accomplishments, legendary passion and artistry have positively affected our culture and will continue to influence and inspire generations to come."

The Lifetime Achievement Award honors artistic contributions, while the Trustees Award is for contributions to the music industry in a nonrecording capacity.

Ann Donahue is senior editor at Billboard.