Carey Mulligan, Andrea Arnold, Jane Goldman Among Women in Film and TV Honorees

Ceremony hosted by Julie Walters for 1,000 of film and TV's most influential industry guests.

LONDON -- Carey Mulligan, director Andrea Arnold and screenwriter Jane Goldman were among the award winners at the 20th annual Women in Film and TV awards ceremony held Friday.

Mulligan didn't attend the luncheon to pick up this year's best performance award for turns in An Education and Never Let Me Go.

Arnold, director of Fish Tank, picked up this year's best director nod, from television presenter Claudia Winkleman.

Goldman, who penned screenplays for Kick Ass, Stardust and upcoming X-Men: First Class and The Woman In Black, secured the U.K. Film Council writing award.

The ceremony was hosted by actress and comedienne Julie Walters, for almost 1,000 of film and TV's most influential industry guests who gathered to celebrate 2010's most inspiring women.

Sheila Hancock picked up this year's lifetime achievement award.

Elsewhere, special correspondent Alex Crawford was honored with the BBC News & Factual award, presented by Jane Hill.

The ITV achievement of the year award went to Beryl, Debbie and Sue Vertue of Hartswood Films. The trio is the driving force behind TV shows Men Behaving Badly, Coupling and Sherlock Holmes.