Cartoon Net: Emmy top drawer

Other ani category nods to Nick, Starz, Fox shows

Cartoon Network series dominate the individual achievement in animation category of the 59th Emmy Awards.

The winners of the juried category, along with the recipient of the juried award for costumes for a variety/music program or a special, were announced Tuesday by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

Because the awards are juried categories, there are no nominations; the categories might have one, more than one or no winners each year. There were no Emmys awarded in the voice-over performance juried area this year.

Cartoon Network shows received seven of the 10 mentions in the animation category, with Nickelodeon, Starz Kids & Family and Fox programs rounding out the list. The juried award winners are:

Sang-Jin Kim, animator for Nickelodeon's "Avatar: The Last Airbender," episode "Lake Logai," from Nickelodeon Animation Studios;

Sihanouk Mariona, animator for Cartoon Network's "Moral Orel," episode "The Lord's Prayer," from ShadowMachine Films;

Thomas Smith, animator for Cartoon Network's "Robot Chicken," episode "Lust for Puppets," from ShadowMachine Films;

Sue Mondt, art director for Cartoon Network's "Camp Lazlo," episode "Squirrel Secrets," from Cartoon Network Studios;

Dave Dunnet, background key designer for Cartoon Network's "Good Wilt Hunting" ("Foster's Home for Imaginary Friends"), from Cartoon Network Studios;

Narina Sokolova, background painter for Cartoon Network's "My Gym Partner's A Monkey," episode "The Big Field Trip," from Cartoon Network Studios;

David Colman, character designer for Cartoon Network's "Class of 3000," episode "Eddie's Money," from Cartoon Network Studios;

Phil Rynda, character designer for Cartoon Network's "Billy & Mandy's Big Boogey Adventure" ("The Grim Adventures of Billy & Mandy"), from Cartoon Network Studios;

James McDermott, character designer for Starz Kids and Family's "Eloise," episode "Me, Eloise," from Bolder Media Inc. in association with Film Roman;

Steve Fonti, storyboard artist for Fox's "Family Guy," episode "No Chris Left Behind," from Fuzzy Door Prods. in association with Fox TV Animation.

In the category of costumes for a variety/music program or a special, the winners are Colleen Atwood, costume designer, and Kendall Errair, wardrobe supervisor, for NBC's "Tony Bennett: An American Classic," from RPM Prods. and Lucamar Prods.

The winners will receive their awards during the Creative Arts ceremony Sept. 8 at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.