Cast set for N's 'Best Years'


TORONTO -- Charity Shea, Athena Karkanis, Brendan Jay McLaren and Sherry Miller are set as the stars of "The Best Years," a teen drama for The N from Toronto-based Blueprint Entertainment now shooting in Toronto.

The ensemble cast for the one-hour drama about first-year students at a Boston university also features Jennifer Miller and Alan Van Sprang.

Noreen Halpern, a Los Angeles-based executive producer with Blueprint Entertainment, said that Toronto-based Aaron Martin created the series for The N, which also airs Canadian series "Degrassi: The Next Generation." Martin executive produced and served as head writer on that high school drama.

Martin will executive produce and co-write "The Best Years," while Paul Jackson will consult.

Jackson had previously worked on "Whistler," a Blueprint teen series that recently bowed on CTV in Canada and The N in the U.S. The second season of "Whistler" is set to begin shooting in January. Global Television will air "The Best Years" in Canada.

"The Best Years" is being shot at the Toronto Film Studios in Toronto, with Brenda Greenburg overseeing production.