Casting group honors 'Star Trek,' 'Milk'

CSA also hands out Artios Awards to 'Mad Men,' 'Conchords'

"Star Trek," "Tropic Thunder," "Milk" and "Up" were among the films honored Monday night as the Casting Society of America held its 25th Artios Awards.

At simultaneous ceremonies at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Century City and the New York Times Building in New York, "Mad Men" and "Flight of the Conchords" were singled out in the TV series categories.

The awards, which recognize originality, creativity and quality in casting, were hosted by actor John Michael Higgins.

A career achievement award was presented to producer Laura Ziskin. Nora and Delia Ephron received the New York Apple Award, and John Frank Levey was the recipient of the Hoyt Bowers Award.

On the film side, the winners were April Webster and Alyssa Weisberg for "Star Trek" in the category of studio feature, drama; Francine Maisler for "Tropic Thunder" (studio feature, comedy); Maisler and Nina Henninger (location casting) for "Milk" (indie feature); Avy Kaufman for "Sunshine Cleaning" (low-budget feature); Kevin Reher and Natalie Lyon for "Up" (animation); and Jason Wood for "Bye Bye Sally" (short film).

The TV recipients were Junie Lowry Johnson for "True Blood" in the pilot, drama category; Robert Ulrich, Eric Dawson, Carol Kritzer and Jim Carnahan (New York casting) for "Glee" (pilot comedy); Laura Schiff and Carrie Audino for "Mad Men" (series drama); Cindy Tolan for "Flight of the Conchords" (series comedy); Ellen Parks and Robin D. Cook (location casting) for "Grey Gardens" (TV movie); Alexa L. Fogel for "Generation Kill" (miniseries); Ruth Lambert and Robert McGee for "Wizards of Waverly Place" (children's series); Gillian O'Neill for "Rick & Steve: The Happiest Gay Couple in All the World" (animation); and Mark Teschner for "General Hospital" (daytime).

Theater winners were Amy Lieberman for "Once on This Island" in the Los Angeles theater category; Cindy Tolan for "All My Sons" (Broadway, drama); Daniel Swee for "God of Carnage" (Broadway, comedy); Tara Rubin, Merri Sugarman, Laura Schutzel, Eric Woodall and Nora Brennan for "Billy Elliot" (Broadway, musical); Howie Cherpakov for "Fault Lines" (off-Broadway, comedy/musical); Nancy Piccione for "Ruined" (off-Broadway, drama); James Calleri for "The Glass Menagerie" (regional theater, East); and Michael Donovan for "The Little Foxes" (regional theater, West).