Casting Society Unveils Artios Awards Film Nominees

Steve Carell Foxcatcher - H 2014

Steve Carell Foxcatcher - H 2014

The 30th annual awards ceremony will be held on Jan. 22 in New York and Los Angeles

The Casting Society of America has unveiled its nominees for the 30th Annual Artios Awards., which honor achievement in casting movies, TV and live stage.

With new date changes for Artios eligibility, 2013 film titles like 12 Years a Slave, Captain Phillips and American Hustle will contend in the big-budget drama competition with Foxcatcher, Gone Girl and Selma.

Francine Maisler snagged four nominations (some shared) for her casting work in Into the Woods in the comedy category, 12 Years a Slave and Captain Phillips in the drama category, and Birdman in the studio or independent drama category.

The Artios awards earlier handed out eight nominations in the theater categories to James Calleri and seven theater noms to Daniel Swee. And Bernard Telsey has earned seven nominations across the film, TV and theater categories.

Read more Richard Linklater to Receive Casting Society of America's Career Achievement Award

Trophies for the bi-coastal Artios Awards will be handed out on Jan. 22, 2015. Patton Oswalt will co-host from Los Angeles alongside Michael Urie in New York City. The CSA will also give Richard Linklater its Career Achievement Award, while Into the Woods director Rob Marshall will receive the New York Apple Award and casting director Ellen Lewis will be given the Hoyt Bowers Award.

The full list of film nominees announced Tuesday appears below.

Big-Budget Comedy

Guardians of the Galaxy – Sarah Finn, Reg Poerscout-Edgerton, Tamara Hunter (Associate)

Into The Woods – Francine Maisler, Bernard Telsey, Tiffany Little Canfield

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty – Rachel Tenner, Charlene Lee (Associate), Bess Fifer (Associate)

This is Where I Leave You – Cindy Tolan, Adam Caldwell (Associate)

We’re the Millers – Lisa Beach, Sarah Katzman, Lisa Mae Fincannon (Location Casting), Jeremy Gordon (Associate), Beth Lipari (Associate), Dana Salerno (Associate)

The Wolf of Wall Street – Ellen Lewis

Big-Budget Drama

12 Years a Slave – Francine Maisler, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting), Melissa Kostenbauder (Associate)

American Hustle – Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham, Angela Peri (Location Casting)

Captain Phillips – Francine Maisler, Donna M. Belajac (Location Casting)

Foxcatcher – Jeanne McCarthy, Rori Bergman (Location Casting), Donna M. Belajac (Location Casting), Matthew Maisto (Associate)

Gone Girl – Laray Mayfield, Annie Hamilton (Location Casting) Selma – Aisha Coley, Robyn Owen (Associate)

Studio or Independent Comedy

Big Eyes – Jeanne McCarthy, Nicole Abellera, Coreen Mayrs (Location Casting), Heike Brandstatter (Location Casting)

Chef – Sarah Finn, Tamara Hunter (Associate)

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Douglas Aibel, Jina Jay, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)

Pride – Fiona Weir

St. Vincent – Laura Rosenthal

Top Five – Victoria Thomas, Matthew Maisto (Associate)

Studio or Independent Drama

Birdman – Francine Maisler

Blue Jasmine – Juliet Taylor, Patricia DiCerto, Nina Henninger (Location Casting)

Dallas Buyers Club – Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Rich Delia, Tracy Kilpatrick (Location Casting), Allison Estrin (Associate)

Inside Llewyn Davis – Ellen Chenoweth, Amelia McCarthy (Associate)

The Theory of Everything – Nina Gold

Whiplash – Terri Taylor

Low-Budget Comedy

Adult World – Jennifer Euston

Believe Me – JC Cantu, Beth Sepko (Location Casting)

Dear White People – Kim Taylor-Coleman

The Double – Douglas Aibel, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)

Space Station 76 – Eric Souliere

Two Night Stand – Angela Demo, Julie Schubert (Location Casting)

Low-Budget Drama

Boyhood – Beth Sepko

Cake – Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham

Camp X-Ray – Richard Hicks

Lonely Boy – Howard Meltzer

Short Term 12 – Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Rich Delia, Allison Estrin (Associate)

The Spectacular Now – Angela Demo, Tracy Kilpatrick (Location Casting)


Big Hero 6 – Jamie Sparer Roberts

The Book of Life – Christian Kaplan

Frozen – Jamie Sparer Roberts

Monsters University – Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon

Planes – Jason Henkel

Rio 2 – Christian Kaplan