Caucus honors Stephen J. Cannell

Steve Carell, THR editor Elizabeth Guider also feted

The Caucus for Producers, Writers and Directors bestowed honors during its 27th awards ceremony Sunday at the Beverly Hills Hotel.

Stephen J. Cannell was named producer of the year, with awards also going to director Alex Rudzinski, writer Matt Nix and actor Steve Carell.

Special awards, previously announced, also were presented during the black-tie gala celebrating achievement in the television industry. Honorees included NBC Universal's Angela Bromstad as executive of the year; 3ality Digital toppers Sandy Climan and Steve Schklair, who received the New Visions award; executive producer Frank von Zerneck for lifetime achievement; executive producer Charles Floyd Johnson, who received the chair's award; and producer-writer-director Albert Fisher for distinguished service.

About Town gallery  
Robert Mandel, dean of the American Film Institute, was presented with a Special Educator Award, and The Hollywood Reporter editor Elizabeth Guider was cited for journalism.

David Hasselhoff hosted the event, which drew more than 300 industry professionals.