CBS hoops it up with Atlantic 10 tournament

Multi-year deal begins with 2010 men's title game

NEW YORK -- CBS Sports said Tuesday that it has reached a deal to broadcast the Atlantic 10 Conference men's basketball championship.

The multi-year pact between CBS and the Atlantic 10 begins with the 2010 conference championship game. Financial terms of the deal weren't announced.

CBS will take over the championship game from ESPN, which carries regular-season games as well as this season's men's and women's conference tournament games on ESPN2. CBS College Sports Network, formerly CSTV, also carries regular-season games. This year, CBS is set to carry a Dec. 20 game between Duke and the Atlantic 10's Xavier University.

The Atlantic 10 also includes the University of Dayton, Fordham University, the University of Massachusetts and Temple. The winner of the men's conference title game gets an automatic invitation to the NCAA championship tournament.

CBS has deals to carry the men's basketball championships of the Big Ten, Southeastern and Pacific 10 conferences and Conference USA, as well as the NCAA men's basketball tournament, "March Madness."