CBS, 'Restless' lead Daytime Emmy noms

Split in talk-show category could mean new winners

NEW YORK -- CBS and "The Young & the Restless" lead nominations for the 35th annual Daytime Emmy Awards.

CBS netted 56 nominations when they were announced Wednesday, 17 for "The Young & the Restless," which was nominated for best daytime drama among others. PBS received 50 nominations, including 13 for "Sesame Street." Two other programs, "Guiding Light" and "One Life to Live," also received 13 nominations, while "As the World Turns" received 12.

The Daytime Emmys will be handed out on June 20 from the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood and televised on ABC.

ABC received 39 nominations, including seven for ABC's chatfest "The View."

"The View," which broadcast the announcement live Wednesday morning, came away with nominations for talk show/entertainment and for its co-hosts, among other categories. "The View" has only won once for best show, in 2003. "Ellen" has won every year since 2004 and last year won a total of six Daytime Emmys.

But this year's split of the talk-show category into two awards could shake things up. "Ellen," "Rachael Ray" and "The View" are vying in talk show/entertainment category; talk show/informative noms are for PBS' "A Place of Our Own"; "Dr. Phil" and "The Tyra Banks Show." Syndicated shows received 28 nominations for Daytime Emmys.

One talk-show host guaranteed to walk away with an award is Regis Philbin, who will be honored with a lifetime achievement award. Philbin and his co-host, Kelly Ripa, were nominated as outstanding talk-host hosts as well as Ellen DeGeneres and "The View."
Competing for outstanding daytime drama this year are ABC's "General Hospital," CBS' "Guiding Light," ABC's "One Life to Live" and CBS' "Restless."

Receiving best-actor nominations are David Canary ("All My Children"); Thaao Penghlis ("Days of Our Lives"); Anthony Geary ("General Hospital"); Peter Bergman ("Restless"); and Christian Jules LeBlanc ("Restless"). LeBlanc won last year.

Competing in the best actress category are Maura West ("As The World Turns"); Crystal Chappell ("Guiding Light"); Nicole Forester ("Guiding Light"); Michelle Stafford ("Restless"); and Jeanne Cooper ("Restless").

Also receiving nominations:
NBC (14)
Disney Channel (13)
Food Network (8)
Kids! WB (8)
Nick Jr. (7)
Discovery Kids (6)
The CW (3)
Discovery Channel (3)
ESPN Desportes (3)
MTV (3)
Nickelodeon (3)
Travel Channel (3)
DIY Network (2)
Noggin (2)
The Style Network (2)
A&E (1)
Cartoon Network (1)
CNN (1)
MTVU (1)
National Geographic Kids Entertainment (1)
WB Network (1)