Academy: Cheryl Boone Isaacs Reelected to Third Term as President

Aaron Fallon
Cheryl Boone Isaacs

Jeffrey Kurland was reelected first vice president as the organization's board of governors elected new officers tonight.

Cheryl Boone Isaacs has been reelected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Boone Isaacs, who represents the publicists branch on the board, won a third one-year term tonight as the 51-member board, holding its first meeting since new members were elected last month, held its annual elections of officers.

Filling out the other posts, Jeffrey Kurland, of the costume designers branch, was reelected first vice president.

John Bailey (cinematographers) was reelected and Kathleen Kennedy (producers) and Bill Kroyer (short films and feature animation) were elected to vice president posts. Kennedy has, however, served previous terms as vp, and last year Kroyer served as secretary.

Fox's Jim Gianopulos of the executive branch, who just returned to the board, was elected treasurer, the first time he has held one of the officer's posts at the Academy.

And Phil Robinson, of the writers branch, who has served as both a vp and secretary in the past, was elected secretary for the upcoming year.

Officers are elected from among members of the board. And under the Academy’s rules, officers may serve as many as four successive one-year terms, subject to their reelection.

Boone Isaacs — a marketing executive who currently heads CBI Enterprises and who has served stints at Paramount and New Line — became the first African-American to head the 88-year-old Academy and only the third woman to serve as president when she was first elected to the post two years ago. Actress Bette Davis held the job for just two months in 1941, and screenwriter Fay Kanin served for four years from 1979-83. 

"It is an honor to be reelected by my peers who have entrusted me to lead for another term," Boone Issacs said in a statement she issued after the election. "I'm proud of what we have already accomplished together and look forward to continuing the momentum we have with the Academy's global film community."

As president, Boone Isaacs serves as the public face of the Academy — taking part in the annual Oscar nominations announcements and also appearing on the annual Academy Awards telecast. One of her first orders of business will be lining up a producer or producers to oversee the next Academy Awards show, scheduled for Feb. 28, 2016.

Boone Issacs also has been leading the Academy’s efforts to diversify its membership. In June the Academy issued a record 322 invitations to new members.

Starting this September, Boone Isaacs will be an adjunct professor at Chapman University's Dodge College of Film and Media Arts. She also recently received an honorary doctorate from the University of North Carolina School of the Arts.