Chilean Cinema Sweeps Havana LatAm Film Fest

Gael Garcia Bernal 'No' film still - H 2012

Gael Garcia Bernal 'No' film still - H 2012

‘No’ picks First Choral Award, followed by Andres Wood’s 'Violeta Went to Heaven.'

BUENOS AIRES – The booming moment Chilean cinema has experienced this year was confirmed today with the awards announcement at the Havana New Latin American Film Festival, where Pablo Larrain’s No, Chile’s Foreign Oscar bid starring Gael Garcia Bernal, won the 1st Choral Award for Fiction Films.

Also from Chile, Andres Wood’s Violeta Went to Heaven came in second in the same competition, and also won Best Art Direction, while the 3rd Choral Award went to Claudio AssisRat Fever from Brazil.

STORY: Latin America's Frontrunner in Foreign Oscar Race is 'No,' With Gael Garcia Bernal

The Jury granted a Special Prize for Carlos Sorin’s Fishing Days (Argentina) and a Special Mention for Brazil/France co-production Once Upon a Time Was I, Verônica, directed by Marcelo Gomes

The fest’s First Film competition was topped by William Vega’s La Sirga (Colombia), followed by Alejandro Fadel’s The Wild Ones (Argentina) which also picked the Choral Award for Best Artistic Contribution. The 3rd Choral prize went to Fernando Guzzoni’s Dog Flesh (Chile)

Local documentary El evangelio según Ramiro - Juan Carlos Calahorra picked the 1st Choral in the Documentary competition, while Maria Veronica Ramirez’s Anima Buenos Aires topped the Animation category.

The FIPRESCI Award went to Nicolas Pereda’s Greatest Hits (Mexico)

STORY: No: Cannes Review

Full Award List:


Short Films
Jury Mention: Detras del espejo - Julio O. Ramos (Peru)

Choral Award to Best Short Film: Los anfitriones - Miguel Angel Moulet (Cuba)

Feature Length Films

First Choral Award: No - Pablo Larrain (Chile, USA, Mexico)

Second Choral Award: Violeta Went to Heaven - Andres Wood (Chile, Argentina, Brazil)

Third Choral Award: Rat Fever - Claudio Assis (Brazil)

Special Jury Prize: Fishing Days - Carlos Sorin (Argentina)

Jury Mention: Once Upon a Time Was I, Veronica - Marcelo Gomes (Brazil, France)

Best Direction: Michel Franco – After Lucia (Mexico)

Best Script: Eduardo del Llano and Daniel Díaz Torres - La película de Ana (Cuba)

Best Actor: Andres Crespo - Pescador (Ecuador, Colombia)

Best Actress: Laura de la Uz - La película de Ana (Cuba)

Best Editing: Pablo Trapero and Nacho Ruiz Capillas – White Elephant (Argentina, Spain, France)

Best Original Score: Jacobo Lieberman, Leonardo Heiblum – The Delay (Uruguay, Mexico)

Best Soundtrack: Gilles Laurent - Post Tenebras Lux (Mexico, France, Germany, The Netherlands)

Best Cinematography: Alexis Zabe - Post Tenebras Lux (Mexico, France, Germany, The Netherlands)

Best Art Direction: Rodrigo Bazaes – Violeta Went to Heaven (Chile, Argentina, Brazil)

Best Film about Latin America by a non-Latin American filmmaker: Here and There - Antonio Mendez Esparza (USA, Spain, Mexico)


First Choral Award: La Sirga - William Vega (Colombia, France, Mexico)

Second Choral Award: The Wild Ones - Alejandro Fadel (Argentina)

Third Choral Award: Dog Flesh - Fernando Guzzoni (Chile)

Mention: El limpiador - Adrian Saba (Peru)

Choral Award to the Best Artistic Contribution: The Wild Ones - Alejandro Fadel (Argentina)


First Choral Award: Anima Buenos Aires - Maria Veronica Ramirez (Argentina)

Second Choral Award: Luminaris - Juan Pablo Zaramella (Argentina)

Third Choral Award: Fat Bald Short Man - Carlos Osuna (Colombia, France)

Special Jury Prize: Selkirk, el verdadero Robinson Crusoe - Walter Tournier (Uruguay, Argentina, Chile)

Mention: La luna en el jardin - Adanoe Lima and Yemelí Cruz (Cuba)


First Choral Award: El evangelio segun Ramiro - Juan Carlos Calahorra (Cuba)

Second Choral Award: Con mi corazon en Yambo - Fernanda Restrepo (Ecuador)

Third Choral Award: Cuentos sobre el futuro - Patricia Bustos (Chile)

Best Film about Latin America by a non-Latin American filmmaker: Escenas previas - Aleksandra Maciuszek (Cuba, Poland)

Special Prize: De agua dulce - Damian Sainz (Cuba)

Mention: El Bella Vista - Alicia Cano (Uruguay, Germany)


Special Mention: Sastre - Cesar Andres Heredia Cruz (Colombia)

Choral Award for Best Unreleased Script: Ismael - Carlos Enrique Machado Quintela (Cuba)


Best Poster: Apocrifo - Roney Fundora Hernandez (Mexico)