Chinese directors win HKIFF awards

Jury Prize goes to 'The Berlin Wall'

Updated April 2 at 12:14 am Beijing Time

BEIJING -- Chinese directors Zhao Dayong and Zhao Liang each took home prizes as the Hong Kong International Film Festival awarded eight prizes in five categories in a ceremony Tuesday night at the Hong Kong Cultural Center.

Yang Heng's "Sun Spots" won the Golden Digital Award in the Asian Digital Competition, with Zhao Dayong's "The High Life" taking the Silver Digital Award. Zhao also won the FIRPRESCI Prize, with director Liu Yonghong receiving FIRPRESCI Special Mention for "Tangle."

The Humanitarian Award for Documentaries went to Zhao Liang for the controversial "Petition." "Enemies of the People," Rob Lemkin's look at Cambodia's "killing fields," received the Outstanding Documentary Award.

"Hanasaari A" won the Short Film Competition Grand Prize, with the Jury Prize going to Paul Cotter for "The Berlin Wall."

This year's SIGNIS Award went to Ounie Lecomte for "A Brand New Life."

The 34th Hong Kong International Film Festival continues through April 6 at venues around Hong Kong.