'Chloe' leads DGC Awards

Director Sidney Furie to be honored at Sept. 25 ceremony

TORONTO -- Atom Egoyan's racy marital thriller "Chloe" leads the field with five nominations for the upcoming Directors Guild of Canada (DGC) Awards.

The Liam Neeson, Amanda Seyfried and Julianne Moore-starrer from Sony Pictures Classics will challenge for best feature, best movie direction for Egoyan, and in three craft categories.

The DGC kudosfest also handed out four nominations each to the CBS cop dramas "The Bridge" and "Flashpoint," both of which are lensed in Toronto.

Also contending in the best movie direction competition is Penelope Buitenhuis for "A Wake," George Mihalka for "Faith, Fraud & Minimum Wage," and Reginald Harkema for "Leslie, My Name is Evil."

The best TV direction competition will be fought over by Adrienne Mitchell for "Durham County," Robert C. Cooper for "Stargate Universe," Helen Shaver for "The Bridge" and Holly Dale for "Flashpoint."

The DGC will also hand out a lifetime achievement award to director Sidney Furie ("Lady Sings the Blues," "The Appaloosa"), while Don McCutcheon will pick up the Don Haldane distinguished service award, and Paul Bronfman will receive an honorable life member award.

Canadian comic Dave Foley will emcee the 2010 DGC Awards on Sept. 25 in Toronto.
comments powered by Disqus