CineMart 2012 to Include New Films From Kelly Reichardt, Athina Rachel Tsangari and Urszula Antoniak

Getty Images

Rotterdam’s indie co-financing market runs Jan. 29 – Feb. 1.

COLOGNE, Germany – New projects from acclaimed indie filmmakers Kelly Reichardt (Wendy and Lucy), Urszula Antoniak (Nothing Personal), Athina Rachel Tsangari (Attenberg) and Ruben Ostlund (Involuntary) are among those that will be vying for financing at next year’s CineMart event in Rotterdam (Jan. 29 – Feb. 1).

CineMart, now in its 29th year, remains one of the most important co-financing events for international indie filmmakers. Producers present their new projects to potential financing partners, some 850 of which are expected to attend CineMart in Rotterdam in 2012.

Other indie vets pitching their planned features at CineMart 2012 include Russian director Alexei Popogrebsky (How I Ended This Summer), Spain’s Manuel Martín Cuenca (Half of Oscar) and Florin Serban from Romania, whose last feature, If I Want to Whistle, I Whistle, won the Berlin Silver Bear last year. The CineMart works closely with the Rotterdam International Film Festival (Jan. 25 – Feb. 5, 2012) and the Hubert Bals Fund, which backs features from countries with an underdeveloped cinema infrastructure. This year’s selection also includes films participating in the BOOST! program, a collaboration between CineMart, the Hubert Bals Fund and Dutch film development center the Binger Filmlab.

The full list for the 2012 CineMart:

Apprentice, dir Boo Junfeng (Singapore)

Between Ten and Twelve, dir Peter Hoogendoorn (The Netherlands)

Cannibal, dir Manuel Martín Cuenca (Spain)

Centaur, dir Aktan Arym Kubat (France, Germany, Kyrgyzstan)

Duncharon, dir Athina Rachel Tsangari (Greece, France, Germany)

Estiuejants, Els, dir Lluis Galter (Spain)

Groenlandia, dir Jose Luis Torres Leiva (Chile)

A Happy Death, dir Eduardo Nunes (Brazil)

History of Fear, dir Benjamin Naishtat (Argentina)

Hungry Mouth, dir Argyris Papadimitropoulos (Greece)

The Invisibles, dir Mushon Salmona (Israel)

Jojo Rabbit, dir Taika Waititi (New Zealand, US)

Kirkenes - Murmansk, dir Knut Asdam (Germany)

Little Dog Boy, dir Henry Coombes (United Kingdom)

Lost Rooms, dir Alexei Popogrebsky (Russia)

The Lunchbox, dir Ritesh Batra (India, US)

Night Moves, by Kelly Reichardt (US)

Nude Area, dir Urszula Antoniak (The Netherlands, Germany)

Our Sun, dir Joost van Ginkel (The Netherlands)

Realite, dir Quentin Dupieux (France)

The Revolution Will Not Be Tweeted dir David Dusa (France, Denmark, Sweden)

Service for People, dir Jang Cheol-soo (South-Korea)

Snow in Paradise, dir Andrew Hulme (United Kingdom)

Through My Veins, dir Florin Serban (Romania)

Tokyo Cannonball Rising Sun, dir Malcolm Murray (US)

Turist, dir Ruben Ostlund (Sweden, Germany, Denmark)

Tristes Monroes, dir Gabriel Abrantes & Daniel Schmidt (Portugal, France)

Le Vent des ombres, dir Christelle Lheureux (France, Thailand)

We Are Sisyphos, dir Peter Brunner (Austria, The Netherlands)

The White Buffalo, dir Aditya Assarat (Thailand)

A Worthy Companion, dir Carlos Sanchez & Jason Sanchez (Canada)

BOOST! projects

Djin, dir Hawa Essuman (Kenya)

Los Dolares de arena, dir Laura Amelia Guzman & Israel Cardenas (Dominican Republic, Mexico, France)

Humidity, dir Nikola Ljuca (Serbia, Germany)

Jomo, dir Kivu Ruhorahoza (Rwanda, Australia)

Midfielder, dir Adrian Biniez (Argentina, Uruguay, Germany, The Netherlands)