CMT Awards: Justin Bieber, Rascal Flatts Among Winners

Jason Merritt/Getty Images
Justin Bieber, center, with Rascal Flatts

Blake Shelton, Miranda Lambert and Taylor Swift also take home prizes at the Kid Rock-hosted ceremony.

Justin Bieber was a winner at the fan-voted CMT Awards on Wednesday night.

His "That Should Be Me," featuring Rascal Flatts, was named best collaborative video of the year at the show, held at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville.

"I want to thank Rascal Flatts for even jumping on the song with me," Bieber said in accepting the award.

Meanwhile, Taylor Swift's "Mine" won video of the year at the Kid Rock-hosted ceremony. She accepted her award from a concert in Milwaukee.

Other big winners included newlyweds Miranda Lambert and Blake Shelton won for best female and male video of the year, respectively.

Awards darling Lambert won for "The House That Built Me" but wasn't present to accept, nor was  Shelton, a celebrity coach on NBC's The Voice, who won for "Who Are You When I'm Not Looking." Trey Fanjoy, the director of those two videos, was named director of the year.

Shelton also scooped up the prize for web video of the year for "Kiss My Country Ass."

Sugarland's comedic "Stuck Like Glue," featuring Chuck actor Ryan McPartlin, was named best video by a duo.

"This is the most fun awards show ever, and we love that the fans get to vote," the group's Jennifer Nettles said. "We have the best fans in the world, and this definitely shows it."

Lady Antebellum took home the prize for group vide of the year for "Hello World."

"We said we wanted to make a Rascal Flatts video," Lady A's Charles Kelley said. "We want to make people cry, just like every Rascal Flatts video has made me cry."

The USA Weekend-sponsored breakthrough video of the year award went the Band Perry for its "If I Die Young."

Said Neil Perry: "Thanks for voting for this award and wrapping your arms around us and this song. We love y'all. Y'all have made our lives extraordinary."

The group also won the Nationwide Insurance On Your Side Award, which honors "hot opening acts."

Zac Brown Band and Jimmy Buffett's performance of the latter's classic "Margaritaville" on CMT Crossroads was named best CMT performance of the year.

Going into Wednesday's ceremony, Jason Aldean led the nominees with a total of four. The Band Perry, Lady Antebellum, Lambert, Rascal Flatts, Swift and Zac Brown Band followed with three apiece.

A complete list of winners can be found on the next page.


Video of the Year
Taylor Swift, "Mine"

Male Video of the Year
Blake Shelton, "Who Are You When I'm Not Looking"

Female Video of the Year
Miranda Lambert, "The House That Built Me"

Group Video of the Year
Lady Antebellum, "Hello World"

Duo Video of the Year
Sugarland, "Stuck Like Glue"

USA Weekend Breakthrough Video of the Year
The Band Perry, "If I Die Young"

Collaborative Video of the Year
Justin Bieber featuring Rascal Flatts, "That Should Be Me"

CMT Performance of the Year
Zac Brown Band and Jimmy Buffett, "Margaritaville" from CMT Crossroads

Best Web Video of the Year
Blake Shelton, "Kiss My Country Ass"

Director of the Year
Trey Fanjoy

Nationwide Insurance On Your Side Award
The Band Perry

comments powered by Disqus