'Community' Leads Critics' Choice Television Awards Nominees

Community Curriculum Unavailable Episodic - H 2012
Lewis Jacobs/NBC

Community Curriculum Unavailable Episodic - H 2012

NBC is the top network with 14 nominations for the second annual Critics Choice Television Awards, to be presented June 18.

The NBC comedy Community received six nominations, the most of any show, for the second annual Critics’ Choice Television Awards, announced Tuesday. The Peacock also was the most honored network with 14 nominations.

NBC was closely followed by ABC with 13 nominations and Fox with 12. HBO got the most among cable networks with 12, while FX and AMC each received 11 noms.  

The nominated shows reflect  “the amazing diversity and creativity that is exploding on the small screen today,” said Joey Berlin, acting president of the Broadcast Television Journalist Association, an offshoot of the Broadcast Film Critics Association, which presents the awards. Winners will be announced June 18 in Beverly Hills.

PHOTOS: PaleyFest 2012: 'Community' Red Carpet Interviews

Community was nominated for best comedy series, with castmembers Joel McHale chosen to compete for best actor in a comedy series, Jim Rash and Danny Pudi for supporting actor and Alison Brie and Gillian Jacobs for supporting actress.

AMC's Mad Men was the most honored drama with five nominations, including best drama, best actor Jon Hamm, best actress Elisabeth Moss and supporting actor John Slattery.

The awards honor programs and performances that aired between June 1, 2011, and May 31, 2012. Since the awards debuted last year, the critics have added six new categories: best movie or miniseries, best actor in a movie or miniseries, best actress in a movie or miniseries, best guest performer in a drama series, best guest performer in a comedy series and best animated series.

Nominees in one other category, most exciting new series, are still being decided based on pilot episodes of upcoming shows.

Last year's inaugural Critics’ Choice Television Awards were shown on ReelzChannel and streamed live on VH1.com. No broadcast deal in place yet for this year.

Bob Bain will executive produce the live show for Bob Bain Productions.

A complete list of announced nominees follows:

Best Drama Series

Breaking Bad – AMC

Downton Abbey – PBS

Game of Thrones – HBO

The Good Wife – CBS

Homeland – Showtime

Mad Men – AMC


Best Actor in a Drama Series

Bryan Cranston – Breaking Bad – AMC

Kelsey Grammer – Boss – Starz

Jon Hamm – Mad Men - AMC

Charlie Hunnam – Sons of Anarchy – FX

Damian Lewis – Homeland – Showtime

Timothy Olyphant – Justified – FX


Best Actress in a Drama Series

Claire Danes – Homeland – Showtime

Michelle Dockery – Downton Abbey - PBS

Julianna Margulies – The Good Wife – CBS

Elisabeth Moss – Mad Men – AMC

Emmy Rossum – Shameless – Showtime

Katey Sagal – Sons of Anarchy – FX


Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Peter Dinklage – Game of Thrones – HBO

Giancarlo Esposito – Breaking Bad – AMC

Neal McDonough – Justified – FX

John Noble – Fringe – FOX

Aaron Paul – Breaking Bad - AMC

John Slattery – Mad Men – AMC


Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Christine Baranski – The Good Wife – CBS

Anna Gunn – Breaking Bad - AMC

Christina Hendricks – Mad Men – AMC

Regina King – Southland - TNT

Kelly Macdonald – Boardwalk Empire – HBO

Maggie Siff – Sons of Anarchy – FX


Best Guest Performer in a Drama Series

Dylan Baker – Damages – DirecTV

Jere Burns – Justified – FX

Loretta Devine – Grey’s Anatomy – ABC

Lucy Liu – Southland – TNT

Carrie Preston – The Good Wife – CBS

Chloe Webb – Shameless – Showtime


Best Reality Series

Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations – Travel Channel

Hoarders – A&E

Sister Wives – TLC

Kitchen Nightmares – FOX

Pawn Stars – History

Undercover Boss – CBS


Best Reality Series – Competition

The Pitch – AMC

Shark Tank – ABC

So You Think You Can Dance – FOX

The Voice – NBC

Chopped – Food Network

The Amazing Race - CBS


Best Reality Show Host

Tom Bergeron – Dancing with the Stars – ABC

Nick Cannon – America’s Got Talent - NBC

Cat Deeley – So You Think You Can Dance – FOX

Phil Keoghan – The Amazing Race -- CBS

RuPaul – RuPaul’s Drag Race - Logo


Best Talk Show

Conan -- TBS

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart – Comedy Central

Late Night with Jimmy Fallon - NBC

Jimmy Kimmel Live! – ABC

The View -- ABC


Best Comedy Series

The Big Bang Theory – CBS

Community – NBC

Girls – HBO

Modern Family – ABC

New Girl – FOX

Parks and Recreation – NBC


Best Actor in a Comedy Series

Don Cheadle – House of Lies – Showtime

Louis C.K. – Louie – FX

Larry David – Curb Your Enthusiasm – HBO

Garret Dillahunt – Raising Hope – FOX

Joel McHale – Community – NBC

Jim Parsons – The Big Bang Theory – CBS


Best Actress in a Comedy Series

Zooey Deschanel – New Girl – FOX

Lena Dunham – Girls – HBO

Julia Louis Dreyfus – Veep - HBO

Martha Plimpton – Raising Hope – FOX

Amy Poehler – Parks and Recreation – NBC

Ashley Rickards – Awkward – MTV


Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Ty Burrell – Modern Family – ABC

Max Greenfield – New Girl – FOX

Nick Offerman – Parks and Recreation – NBC

Danny Pudi – Community – NBC

Jim Rash – Community – NBC

Damon Wayans Jr. – Happy Endings – ABC


Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy

Julie Bowen – Modern Family – ABC

Alison Brie – Community – NBC

Cheryl Hines – Suburgatory – ABC

Gillian Jacobs – Community – NBC

Eden Sher – The Middle – ABC

Casey Wilson – Happy Endings – ABC


Best Guest Performer in a Comedy Series

Becky Ann Baker – Girls – HBO

Bobby Cannavale – Modern Family – ABC

Kathryn Hahn – Parks and Recreation – NBC

Justin Long – New Girl – FOX

Paul Rudd – Parks and Recreation – NBC

Peter Scolari – Girls – HBO


Best Animated Series

Archer – FX

Adventure Time – Cartoon Network

Bob’s Burgers – FOX

Family Guy – FOX

Star Wars: The Clone Wars – Cartoon Network


Best Movie/Miniseries

American Horror Story – FX

Luther – BBC America

Sherlock – PBS

Page Eight – PBS

The Hour – BBC America

Game Change – HBO


Best Actor in a Movie/Miniseries

Benedict Cumberbatch – Sherlock – PBS

Bill Nighy – Page Eight – PBS

Woody Harrelson – Game Change – HBO

Idris Elba – Luther – BBC America

Dominic West – The Hour – BBC America

Kevin Costner – Hatfields & McCoys – History


Best Actress in a Movie/Miniseries

Jessica Lange – American Horror Story – FX

Gillian Anderson - Great Expectations – PBS

Julianne Moore – Game Change – HBO

Patricia Clarkson – Five – Lifetime

Lara Pulver – Sherlock – PBS

Emily Watson – Appropriate Adult – Sundance