Conan O'Brien, Justin Bieber Win Webby Awards

Getty Images

Zach Galifianakis and Lisa Kudrow are top celebrity winners, and Funny or Die earns the most honors with eight.

NEW YORK - Zach Galifianakis, Lisa Kudrow, Conan O'Brien and Funny or Die were big winners at the Webby Awards this year, with Justin Bieber and Will Ferrell also among those honored.

Other Webby-winning celebrities include Adrian Grenier, Jim Carrey, Steve Carell, Snoop Dogg, LL Cool J and Arcade Fire.

The 15th annual Webby winners were announced Tuesday. They honor excellence on the Internet.

The Funny or Die site, co-founded by Ferrell and Adam McKay, won eight Webbys, making it the biggest winner of the year.

Galifianakis won four awards - for best Web personality/host for Between Two Ferns with Zach Galifianakis, for best comedy individual short or episode for an episode of Ferns with Steve Carell and for best online variety show, which earned him a Webby and a People's Voice Award.

Kudrow won honors for best comedy: long form or series and best individual performance in an online video. Both awards came for her work in Web Therapy.

O’Brien’s Team Coco Web site won the best celebrity/fan Web site award and a People’s Voice award.

Bieber received a People’s Voice Award, thanks to his fans, in his first-ever nomination for the Justin Bieber Takes Over Funny or Die comedy video.

Meanwhile, mobile game Angry Birds won a Webby and People's Voice award for best game.

The Webbys are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a group of Internet experts and professionals.
They will be handed in New York on June 13. Winners famously have to keep their acceptance speeches to five words.


Twitter: @georgszalai