In 'Control': Corbijn biopic tops noms for 10th BIFAs

'Notes,' 'Promises' among contenders

The best actor category for the 10th annual British Independent Film Awards spans the generations, with newcomer Sam Riley, Jamie Bel, Cillian Murphy, Viggo Mortensen and Jim Broadbent slugging it out for the prize, organizers said Tuesday.

The actor nod is one of 17 plaudits that will be dished out at a Nov. 28 ceremony at the Roundhouse in London.

Anton Corbijn's "Control" leads the main award categories with nominations for best director, British independent film, screenplay and Riley's turn in the actor category. Both Samantha Morton and Toby Kebbell occupy a spot in the best supporting actor/actress category also.

But Morton and Kebbell will have to overcome each other and strong challenges from Cate Blanchett ("Notes On a Scandal"); Armin Muehler Stahl, who joins Mortensen from the "Eastern Promises" cast; and Colin Firth, who stars opposite Broadbent in "And When Did You Last See Your Father?" to win that particular plaudit.

Corbijn will slug it out with David Mackenzie, helmer of Bell starrer "Hallam Foe," Anand Tucker ("And When"), Sarah Gavron ("Brick Lane") and Cronenberg ("Promises") in the directing category.

To secure the best British Independent film award, "Control" will vie with "Promises," "And When," "Hallam Foe" and "Notes."

This year's best actress could go to "Notes" star Judi Dench if she can fend off Anne Hathaway ("Becoming Jane"), Tannishtha Chaterjee ("Brick Lane"), Sophia Myles ("Hallam Foe") and Kierston Wareing ("It's a Free World").

Best screenplay will be decided among David Nicholls ("And When"), Matt Greenhalgh ("Control"), Steven Knight ("Promises"), David Mackenzie and Ed Whitmore ("Hallam Foe") and Patrick Marber ("Notes").

This year's Richard Harris outstanding contribution by an actor to British Film award will go to Ray Winstone, organizers said.

Established by the British film industry, the BIFAs aim to honor the U.K. independent film community with the prizes voted on by select juries of filmmakers.