'Control' cruises at BIFA nods

Five wins for Corbijn film, including best indie

Anton Corbijn's "Control" was the big winner at Wednesday's British Independent Film Awards, walking off with best movie and director honors and two actor awards.

Corbijn's black-and-white film based on the life and suicide of Joy Division frontman Ian Curtis collected a total of five awards, including the evening's big two: best British independent film and best director.

Corbijn's biopic exorcised the threat of "Eastern Promises," "And When Did You Last See Your Father," "Hallam Foe" and "Notes on a Scandal" to secure the evening's best picture nod.

Corbijn also beat Anand Tucker ("And When Did You"), Sarah Gavron ("Brick Lane"), David Cronenberg ("Eastern Promises") and David Mackenzie ("Hallam Foe") to the punch as best director.

The Dutch director also secured the Douglas Hickox Award for best debut director.

The movie's Sam Riley earned the most promising newcomer nod for his turn as the enigmatic singer-songwriter who committed suicide at age 23, just as his band began breaking into the big time.

Best supporting actor went to Tony Kebbell for his hilarious, swaggering interpretation of Joy Division band manager Rob Gretton. Kebbell was nominated for a best newcomer BIFA in 2004 for his role in "Dead Man's Shoes."

Viggo Mortensen's performance in Cronenberg's "Promises," which includes an infamous naked knife fight in a sauna, secured best actor honors, while Judi Dench's barnstorming turn as a jealous, lonely teacher who resorts to blackmail and threats to keep a friendship in "Notes on a Scandal" earned her the best actress nod.

Writer Patrick Marber secured the screenplay award for "Notes on a Scandal," giving the movie a second award on the night.

The winners for the 10th annual BIFAs also included a best documentary award for Julien Temple's "Joe Strummer: The Future Is Unwritten," while U.K. indie art house distribution founders Andi Engel, Pamela Engel and Robert Beeson were honored with a special jury prize.

BIFA organizers noted how the awards — dished out at the Roundhouse in London for the first time in their 10-year history — have grown "to celebrate the increasingly diverse range of talent out there."

This year's Richard Harris Award for outstanding contribution by an actor to British film went to Ray Winstone.

The winners were chosen by a jury made up of a mix of veteran industry executives and talent, including Hayley Atwell, Archie Panjabi, Kathy Burke, Tony Curran, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Matthew Macfadyen, Annie Griffin, Menhaj Huda, Neil Marshall, Peter Webber, Sandra Hebron, Mark Herbert, Brian Tufano, Will Clarke and Nitin Sawhney.

A complete list of winners can be found at hollywoodreporter.com.