Costume Designers Guild sizes up noms


Meryl Streep's chicly over-the-top designer duds in "The Devil Wears Prada," Helen Mirren's sensible walking outfits in "The Queen," Kirsten Dunst's elaborate gowns in "Marie Antoinette" and America Ferrera's fashion faux pas in "Ugly Betty" have earned nominations from the Costume Designers Guild, which announced nominees today for the ninth annual Costume Designers Guild Awards.

At the guild's awards ceremony, to be held Feb. 17 at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel with Jane Kaczmarek serving as host, Sandra Bullock is set to receive the Swarovski President's Award, Mirren will be honored with the Distinguished Actor Award, costume designer Patricia Norris will be recognized with the Lacoste Career Achievement in Film Award, and costume designer Grady Hunt will be presented with the Career Achievement in Television Award.

For excellence in contemporary film, the CDG nominated Patricia Field for "Prada," Consolata Boyle for "Queen," Nancy Steiner for "Little Miss Sunshine," Lindy Hemming for "Casino Royale" and Michael Wilkinson for "Babel."

The period film nominees are Milena Canonero for "Antoinette," Sharen Davis for "Dreamgirls," Chung Man Yee for "Curse of the Golden Flower," Ngila Dickson for "The Illusionist" and Penny Rose for "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest."

In the fantasy film category, the nominees are Sammy Sheldon for "V for Vendetta," Kym Barrett for "Eragon," Lala Huete for "Pan's Labyrinth," Judianna Makovsky for "X-Men: The Last Stand" and Renee April for "The Fountain."

In the category of outstanding made-for-television movie or miniseries, the nominees are Mike O'Neill for "Elizabeth I," Julie Weiss for "Mrs. Harris," Tom McKinley for "High School Musical," Michael T. Boyd for "Into the West" and Andrea Galer for "Bleak House."

For outstanding contemporary television series, the nominees are Eduardo Castro for "Ugly Betty," Catherine Adair for "Desperate Housewives," Juliet Polcsa for "The Sopranos," Chrisi Karvonides-Dushenko for "Big Love" and Amy Westcott for "Entourage."

In the category of outstanding period/fantasy television series, the nominees are April Ferry for "Rome," Katherine Jane Bryant for "Deadwood" and Patia Prouty and Maria Schicker for "Cold Case."

For commercial costume design, the nominees are Jennifer Rade for "Target Branding Circle" and "Target Holiday Home Decor" and Casey Storm for Geico's "Caveman."