'Court' Gets Triple Win at Buenos Aires Film Fest

Courtesy of Golden Orange Film Festival, Antalya

Chaitanya Tamhane’s Indian courtroom drama wins Best Film, Best Actor, and the FIPRESCI Award.

Chaitanya Tamhane’s Indian courtroom drama Court delivered a hat trick at the Buenos Aires film fest, winning the top prize in the international competition, the Best Actor award for star Vivek Gomber, and the FIPRESCI award.

The 17th edition of the Buenos Aires Independent Film Festival (Bafici) announced its winners Friday at a press conference held by fest director Marcelo Panozzo and the Bafici programming team: Leandro Listorti, Violeta Bava, Javier Porta Fouz, Juan Manuel Domínguez and Fran Gayo.

A former Bafici winner with Policeman, Israeli filmmaker Nadav Lapid took Best Director for The Kindergarten Teacher, which premiered at the Cannes Critics’ Week. The Best Actress award went to Veronica Llinás for her tour de force in the Rotterdam entry Dog Lady, which she directed alongside Laura Citarella.

A Special Jury Prize was awarded ex aequo to Soon-Mi Yoo’s North Korean essay Songs from the North and Brazilian André Novais Olivera’s fiction-doc family drama Ela volta na quinta, which premiered at FIDMarseille. The jury also gave out a special mention to Jean-Gabriel Périot’s A German Youth.

In the Argentine competition, New York-based Matias Piñeiro’s third Shakespearean comedy The Princess of France topped the slate, while cult filmmaker José Celestino Campusano won Best Director for his bizarre moral tale Pleasure and Martyrdom

The official closing of the 17th Buenos Aires Independent Film Fest takes place on Friday night at the Colon Theater, the city's opera house, following an afternoon gala screening of Argentina’s first feature-length film Amalia (1914), recently restored by the Buenos Aires Film Museum.

The complete official awards are listed below:


- Best Film: Court Chaitanya Tamhane (India)

- Special Jury Prize (ex aequo) :

Songs from the North – Soon-Mi Yoo (USA – South Korea- Portugal)

Ela volta na quinta – André Novais Olivera (Brazil)

- Special Mention: A German Youth – Jean-Gabriel Périot (France - Switzerland - Germany)

- Best Director: Nadav Lapid  (The Kindergarten Teacher)

- Best Actor: Vivek Gomber (Court)

- Best Actress: Verónica Llinás (Dog Lady)



- Best Film: The Princess of France - Matías Piñeiro.

- Best Director: José Celestino Campusano – Pleasure and Martyrdom.

- Special Mention: Idilio – Nicolás Aponte Aragón Gutter.



- Best Film: Letters to Max – Eric Baudelaire (France)

- Grand Prize: Léone, mère &  fils – Lucile Chaufour (France)

- Special Mention: The Royal Road – Jenni Olson (USA)

- Best Short Film: World of Tomorrow – Don Hertzfeldt (USA)



- Best Film: Over the Years – Nikolaus Geyrhalter (Austria)



- First Prize: Paseo – Renzo Cozza

- Second Prize: Enfrentar animales salvajes – Jerónimo Quevedo

- Third Prize: Atardecer – Violeta Uman

- Mentions: Despedida (Pablo Paniagua Baptista) and Nexquipayac (Edén Bastida Kullick and Celeste Contratti)