'Crash' Producer Cathy Schulman Elected President of Women in Film, Los Angeles

The group also announced a slew of new board members.

Cathy Schulman, one of the Oscar-winning producers of Crash, has been elected president of Women in Film, Los Angeles, the group's outgoing president Jane Fleming said Wednesday.

Schulman's three-year term began officially Jan. 1.

"I can think of no one better to take the reins of Women In Film as the organization grows in scope and impact to meet the challenges of the 21st century," Fleming said. "She is a proven leader, producer and visionary as well as a committed teacher, philanthropist and mentor. Moreover, her production experience in film and television, both scripted and documentary, gives her a unique insight into the diverse needs of the women the organization serves."

WIF LA also announced a number of new board members: Rowena Arguelles, Jane Buckingham, Sarah Finn, Madelyn Hammond, Deborah Liebling, Ghen Laraya Long, Dawn Miller, Vanessa Morrison Murchison, Katherine Pope, Elizabeth Raposo and Mary Yoel.

Returning board members are Hillary Bibicoff, Ivy Kagan Bierman, Susanne Daniels, Diana Derycz-Kessler, Vicki Dummer, Lisa Gewirtz, Iris Grossman, Bill Harris, Danica Krislovich, Lillah McCarthy, Hannah Minghella, Robert Nieto, Rena Ronson, Schulman, Shelby Stone and Mike Tschida.

Headed by Schulman as president, the 2011 executive board will also be comprised of Minghella, exec chair; Fleming, president emeritus; Harris, CFO; Nieto, vp technology; Miller, vp marketing; Grossman, vp fundraising; and Finn, vp talent relations.

"We have assembled a tremendous board, and we must continue to define our mandate so that the needs of women in entertainment are met," Schulman said. "Equally, we need to ensure women act collectively to make positive change for both men and women working in this ever-changing landscape, invest in next generation thinking and be an important voice in determining long-term strategies for the media business."

comments powered by Disqus