Critics' Choice TV Awards 2012: 'Homeland' Wins Best Drama, 'Community' Nabs Best Comedy

Claire Danes in "Homeland"
Ronen Akerman/Showtime

Claire Danes has doubts about national hero Damian Lewis, whom she suspects of being a terrorist.


"Homeland" star Claire Danes is named best drama actress, with Amy Poehler, Bryan Cranston, Zooey Deschanel and Louis C.K. also taking home acting honors; "The Voice" is a surprise winner for best reality competition.

Homeland was honored Monday night as best drama series at the second annual Critics' Choice Television Awards.

Coming on the heels of its Golden Globe victory in January, the win positions the Showtime series as a serious contender for the Emmy Awards in September. 

PHOTOS: Carson Daly, Christina Hendricks, Zooey Deschanel Celebrate Wins at Critics Choice Awards

The thriller, which is produced by Fox 21 and premiered in October, also won an award for star Claire Danes as best actress in a drama series.

NBC was the most honored network with five wins at the awards show held at the Beverly Hilton, including Community as best comedy series, The Voice as best reality competition series and Late Night With Jimmy Fallon as best talk show.

Amy Poehler was named best actress in a comedy series for NBC’s Parks and Recreation in a tie with Zooey Deschanel, who won for her lead role on Fox’s New Girl.

Complete List of Critics Choice Television Awards Winners

Bryan Cranston was named best actor in a drama series for AMC’s Breaking Bad, which also won for Giancarlo Esposito as best supporting actor in a drama series.

Christina Hendricks was named best supporting actress in a drama series for her work on AMC’s Mad Men.

Louis C.K. was honored as best actor in a comedy series for FX’s Louie.

Best supporting actor in a comedy series went to Ty Burrell for ABC’s Modern Family, which also won best supporting actress in a comedy for Julie Bowen.

PHOTOS: On the Set of 'Community'

The best movie/miniseries award was given to Sherlock, which aired on PBS. Its star Benedict Cumberbatch won best actor in a movie/miniseries.

Julianne Moore was honored as best actress in a movie/miniseries for her role as Sarah Palin in HBO’s Game Change.

FX's Archer was named best animated series.

For best guest performer, Lucy Liu won for TNT’s Southland and Paul Rudd for Parks and Recreation.

STORY: Fired 'Community' Showrunner Absent for Big Win at Critics Choice Awards

Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations, which airs on Travel Channel, was named best reality series. Tom Bergeron of ABC’s Dancing With the Stars and Cat Deeley of Fox’s So You Think You Can Dance tied as best reality show host.

Five upcoming programs were named to a list of the most exciting new series: The Following (Fox/Warner Bros.), The Mindy Project (Fox/Universal), Nashville (ABC/Lionsgate), The Newsroom (HBO) and Political Animals (USA/Warner Bros.).

The critics also partnered with Thalo magazine to recognize Smash with an inspiration award "for illumiinating the fine arts in its subject matter and production methods." 

PHOTOS: Behind the Scenes of 'New GIrl'

Other networks with multiple wins were ABC and AMC (three each) and Fox, FX, PBS and Showtime with two apiece.

Among the presenters were Chris Colfer (Glee), Emily Deschanel (Bones), Sharon Gless (Burn Notice), Cloris Leachman (Raising Hope), Busy Philipps (Cougar Town), Kate Walsh (Private Practice) and Shane West (Nikita). 

The Critics' Choice Television Awards are presented by the Broadcast Television Journalist Association, a group that includes TV, radio and Internet journalists and is a partner organization to the Broadcast Film Critics Association.

PHOTOS: 'Mad Men's' Bombshell Christina Hendricks

The awards honored programs and performances that aired between June 1, 2011, and May 31, 2012 (except for the most exciting new series category, which are shows premièring after June 1, 2012).

The show included six new categories in its second outing: best movie/miniseries, best actor and actress in a movie/miniseries, best animated series and best guest performer in a drama and in a comedy.

While the inaugural show aired on ReelzChannel and was streamed by VH1, this year’s show was not televised. It was produced by Bob Bain for Bob Bain Productions.

PHOTOS: On the Set of 'Parks and Recreation'

A complete list of winners can be found on the next page.


Best Drama Series

Homeland – Showtime

Best Actor in a Drama Series
Bryan Cranston – Breaking Bad – AMC

Best Actress in a Drama Series
Claire Danes – Homeland – Showtime

Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
Giancarlo Esposito – Breaking Bad – AMC

Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Christina Hendricks – Mad Men – AMC

Best Guest Performer in a Drama Series
Lucy Liu – Southland – TNT

Best Reality Series
Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations – Travel Channel

Best Reality Series – Competition
The Voice – NBC

Best Reality Show Host - TIE
Tom Bergeron – Dancing with the Stars – ABC
Cat Deeley – So You Think You Can Dance – Fox

Best Talk Show
Late Night With Jimmy Fallon – NBC

Best Comedy Series
Community – NBC

Best Actor in a Comedy Series
Louis C.K. – Louie – FX

Best Actress in a Comedy Series - TIE
Zooey Deschanel – New Girl – Fox
Amy Poehler – Parks and Recreation – NBC

Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series
Ty Burrell – Modern Family – ABC

Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy
Julie Bowen – Modern Family – ABC

Best Guest Performer in a Comedy Series
Paul Rudd – Parks and Recreation – NBC

Best Animated Series
Archer – FX

Best Movie/Miniseries
Sherlock – PBS

Best Actor in a Movie/Miniseries
Benedict Cumberbatch – Sherlock – PBS

Best Actress in a Movie/Miniseries
Julianne Moore – Game Change – HBO

Most Exciting New Series
The Following (Fox/Warner Bros.)
The Mindy Project (Fox/Universal)
Nashville (ABC/Lionsgate)
The Newsroom (HBO)
Political Animals (USA/Warner Bros.)