'The Crown' Writer Peter Morgan Getting BFI Fellowship

'The Crown'

The screenwriter, whose other credits include 'Frost/Nixon,' 'The Queen,' 'Rush' and 'The Last King of Scotland,' will receive the British Film Institute's highest honor.

The British Film Institute is adding another major name to the list of those awarded the BFI Fellowship, its highest honor. 

Peter Morgan, the acclaimed screenwriter whose credits include Frost/Nixon, The Queen, RushThe Last King of Scotland and, most recently, Netflix's Golden Globe-winning hit The Crown, is set to receive the award at the annual BFI Chairman's Dinner, hosted by chair Josh Berger on Feb. 21. 

"[Peter] is rightly one of our most feted and accomplished screenwriters, with a career spanning almost 30 years and delighting generations of audiences with his work," said Berger.

He added: "Peter has an uncanny knack for getting under the skin of prominent figures to portray an eclectic range of real-life personalities, retelling the most iconic moments in our recent history and the individuals at the heart of them, to make engaging, elegant and accessible stories."

Said Morgan: "I couldn’t be more surprised, thrilled or proud to receive this honor — and look forward to being suitably teased and abused on the night."

The BFI Fellowship has previously been awarded to the likes of Tim Burton, Clint Eastwood, Judi Dench, Martin Scorsese, Stephen Frears, Steve McQueen, Cate Blanchett, John Hurt, Maggie Smith and Hugh Grant.