Crystal clear: Zellweger, Rhimes


Renee Zellweger will be honored with the 2007 Crystal Award for excellence in film and "Grey's Anatomy" creator Shonda Rhimes along with the female members of the show's cast will be presented with the Lucy Award for excellence in television at Women in Film's 2007 Crystal+Lucy Awards.

The organization, celebrating its 31st anniversary, will hold its annual gala dinner June 14 at the Beverly Hilton.

Emily Blunt has been chosen to receive the MaxMara Face of the Future Award. The Dorothy Arzner Director Award will be presented to director-writer-producer Nancy Meyers.

The group also will introduce a new award, the Paltrow Mentorship Award, sponsored by General Motors, which will go to producer Kathleen Kennedy. GM will underwrite a film scholarship in the name of late producer Bruce Paltrow in acknowledgment of the support he offered to women in the entertainment industry.

Uta Briesewitz is set to receive the Kodak Vision Award for her achievements in cinematography in film and television.

"Women in Film is committed to educating and mentoring women throughout the industry," president Jane Fleming said. "I can think of no better way to inspire the next creative generation than to honor these incredible women who have consistently provided the highest-quality entertainment to audiences worldwide."

Calm Down Prods.' Lucy Webb is returning to executive produce the awards. Iris Grossman, ICM agent and past WIF president, is the event chair.

The Crystal Awards were established in 1977 to honor outstanding women who through their endurance and the excellence of their work have helped to expand the role of women within the entertainment industry. The Lucy Awards were founded in 1994 by Joanna Kerns, Bonny Dore and Loreen Arbus and are presented in association with the Lucille Ball Estate.