CSA nods to 'Brokeback,' 'Crashers'


"Brokeback Mountain," "Wedding Crashers" and "Junebug" were recognized for outstanding achievement in casting at the Casting Society of America's 22nd annual Artios Awards, which took place Wednesday at the Beverly Hilton.

Writer-producer John Wells received the group's career achievement award, and casting director April Webster was honored with the Hoyt Bowers Award. Juliet Taylor was honored with the Apple Award in New York.

The evening included a video memorial tribute to the late casting director Phyllis Huffman, represented onscreen in the current "Flags of Our Fathers." Clint Eastwood, the movie's director, was among those who participated in the tribute.

"The Artios Awards are intended to celebrate the work that we do that sometimes goes unnoticed," said Dawn Steinberg, event chairperson and senior vp, talent and casting, Sony Pictures Television.

In the film categories, the winners were: drama, Avy Kaufman, "Brokeback Mountain"; comedy, Lisa Beach and Sarah Katzman, "Wedding Crashers"; independent feature film, Craig Fincannon and Lisa Mae Fincannon, "Junebug"; and short film, Bonnie Zane, "Just Pray."

The television winners were: movie of the week, Junie Lowry Johnson, "Mrs. Harris"; miniseries, Felicia Fasano, "Sleeper Cell"; daytime episodic, Judy Blye Wilson, "All My Children"; dramatic episodic, Linda Lowy, "Grey's Anatomy"; comedy episodic, Sheila Jaffe and Georgianne Walken, "Entourage"; dramatic pilot, John Papsidera, Wendy O'Brien and Claire Simon (Chicago casting), "Prison Break"; comedy pilot, Dava Waite, "My Name Is Earl"; and children's TV, Jason Lapadura and Natalie Hart, "High School Musical."

The prize for animated voice-over feature casting went to Jen Rudin Pearson for "Chicken Little," while the animated voice-over television casting prize went to Sarah Noonan and Meredith Layne for "The X's."

In the theater categories, the winners were: dramatic theater, Daniel Swee, "Awake and Sing!"; comedy theater, Jim Carnahan and Mele Nagler, "The Constant Wife"; musical theater, Sharon Bialy, Sherry Thomas and Tara Rubin, "Jersey Boys"; off-Broadway casting, Swee, "Third"; regional theater, Amy Lieberman, "The Cherry Orchard"; and L.A. theater, Michael Donovan, "A Midsummer Night's Dream."

The Artios Awards — "artios" is an ancient Greek word meaning "perfectly fitted" — were established by CSA in 1985.