Dave Matthews Sets New Album for Fall Release (Video)

Dave Matthews
Getty Images

Dave Matthews has been very active in the political realm, using his celebrity status to get people to vote. He published an internet video before the 2000 U.S. Presidential Campaign and played a concert called "Change Rocks" in 2008 encouraging Indiana University students to elect Obama.

The group wraps its summer tour of North America in early September, just in time for their eighth studio effort.

Dave Matthews Band will release its eighth studio album, Away From the World, on Sept. 11, two days after its concert trek wraps. The band has already been playing several songs from the forthcoming record on its tour, including “Mercy,” which will be the first single.

PHOTOS: The Music Industry's Greatest Givers

The RCA album, DMB's first in three years, was produced by Steve Lillywhite, who worked on their first three multiplatinum studio albums: Under the Table and Dreaming (1994), Crash (1996) and Before These Crowded Streets (1998).

In total, the veteran quartet -- singer-guitarist Dave Matthews, drummer Carter Beauford, bassist Stefan Lessard, and violinist Boy Tinsley -- has sold more than 32 million albums in the U.S. Its 2009 release, Big Whiskey & the GrooGrux King, its first album after the death of founding saxman LeRoi Moore, debuted atop the Billboard 200 with 424,000 copies sold in its first week and was nominated for an album of the year Grammy. It marked the band’s fifth consecutive No. 1 debut.

PHOTOS: The Top 10 Highest Paid Music Artists

DMB also remains a top concert draw, selling more than 17 million tickets since its formation in Charlottesville, Va., in 1991.

Below, find the complete track list for Away From the World:

1. Broken Things
2. Belly Belly
3. Mercy
4. Gaucho
5. Sweet
6. The Riff
7. Belly Full
8. If Only
9. Rooftop
10. Snow Outside
11. Drunken Soldier

Watch a short video video of the band's time in the studio below:

Twitter: @THRMusic