CBS Television Studios President David Stapf to Receive Television Showman of the Year Award


The honor will be handed out at the 49th Annual Publicists Awards luncheon on the eve of Oscar weekend.

David Stapf, president of CBS Television Studios, will be honored with the Television Showman of the Year Award at  the 49th Annual Publicists Awards luncheon on the Friday before the Academy Awards,

The honor was announced Wednesday by Steven Poster, president of the International Cinematographers Guild and Henri Bollinger, Awards Committee Chairman.

Although he is now an executive, Stapf is a former publicist. He has been in his current role since 2004, where he oversees program development and production of series and TV movies for CBS and its cable and pay TV channels.

"The fact that David Stapf began his career as a publicist clearly validates his appreciation of the importance of publicity in the ultimate success of entertainment products,” said Bollinger. “His background in publicity and the inordinate success he has enjoyed as President of CBS Television Studios makes him uniquely qualified to receive this honor.”

Stapf first joined CBS in 1999 as senior vp of current programming for CBS Entertainment. Before that he was a senior vp of advertising, publicity and promotion for Warner Bros TV. He began his career as a unit publicist for Embassy Television in 1985.

The publicist’s guild had previously announced that the Lifetime Achievement Award at the luncheon will go to Carol Burnett. Other honors have not yet been announced.

The TV showmanship award last year was presented to Gary Newman and Dana Walden, chairmen of Twentieth Century Fox Television. Other prior winners include Chuck Lorrie, Peter Roth, Nina Tassler, Jerry Bruckheimer and Aaron Sorkin.