De Niro, Rosenthal chair bigger Tribeca


NEW YORK -- Robert De Niro and Jane Rosenthal will co-chair a bigger and stronger version of the Tribeca Film Institute, partnering with the Rockefeller Foundation's Renew Media to deliver more than $1 million film, media and arts grants annually.

The two not-for-profit groups are expected to complete their union by April, setting a goal to create a permanent exhibition space, screening venue and artist workspace in downtown Manhattan.

The 11 board members from Renew (formerly known as National Video Resources) will join the 12 TFI board members in the combined group, set to include Martin Scorsese, Jonathan Tisch, Todd Wagner, Norman Pearlstine and Tribeca Film Festival co-founder Craig Hatkoff. Renew chair Alberta Arthurs will become TFI Vice Chair, executive director Brian Newman will be named TFI CEO and the 11 Renew board members will join the 12-member TFI board.

TFI, founded in 2002, will remain the not-for-profit arm of the Tribeca Film Festival and continue several charitable programs, including Tribeca All Access, the Tribeca/Sloan Screenplay Development Program and the Gucci Tribeca Documentary Fund. The eighteen-year-old Renew brings the strength of a more avant-garde arts organization which has given artists around $800,000 a year in the US and Mexico through its Media Arts Fellowships Program.