Dean Martin Box Set Due in Summer

Dean Martin

The package spans the Rat Packer's nearly half-century career and features concerts from 1962 and 1983, the latter on DVD.

Memories are made of this – and vice versa.

A four-disc Dean Martin box set will be released June 12, Universal Music Enterprises said Thursday. Collected Cool will feature several dozen tracks from his years recording for Capitol and Reprise. A highlight of the set is a 51-minute 1962 concert in Lake Tahoe that is making its CD debut.

The set will span Martin’s nearly half-century career, ranging from late-'40s hits including “Powder Your Face With Sunshine (Smile! Smile! Smile!)” to the 1985 single “L.A. Is My Home.” Collected Cool also features a DVD of Dean Martin Live in London, filmed in 1983 at the Apollo Victoria Theatre. The concert aired on Showtime but has never been available on home video.

A quadruple-threat performer on stage, TV, music and movies, Martin has three stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. Having enjoyed moderate East Coast success as a crooner, his career took off when he paired with Jerry Lewis in 1946. The comedy team of Martin and Lewis starred in nightclubs and on radio, TV and the big screen for a decade, with Martin as the consummate straight man. Meanwhile, Martin began to score hits as a singer, topping the Billboard Hot 100 for six weeks with “Memories Are Made of This” in early 1956.

Martin’s singing career flourished in the mid-‘60s. Having left his longtime home at Capitol Records for pal Frank Sinatra's nascent Reprise label, he racked up a dozen gold albums from 1964-69, fueled by his popular NBC variety show and membership in the Rat Pack. Martin topped the Hot 100 again in 1964 with “Everybody Loves Somebody.”

His singing career had flagged by the early ‘70s, but the man Playboy famously called “the coolest man who ever lived” continued to draw solid ratings on TV. After his show wrapped in 1974, Martin worked intermittently for the last 20 years of his life. He died in on Christmas Day 1995 at 78.

The Collected Cool track list:

Capitol Records Years (CD 1):

1. Dean’s Spoken Word Introductions

2. My Own, My Only, My All 

3. Powder Your Face With Sunshine (Smile! Smile! Smile!) 

4. I Don’t Care if the Sun Don’t Shine

5. That’s Amore

6. If I Could Sing Like Bing

7. Sway

8. Long, Long Ago

9. Memories Are Made of This

10. Pardners (with Jerry Lewis)

11. Volare 

12. Rio Bravo

13. On an Evening in Roma 

14. Sleep Warm 

15. Ain’t That a Kick in the Head 

16. Just in Time

17. Arrivederci Roma

18. Return to Me

19. A Hundred Years From Today 


Reprise Records Years (CD 2):

1. Tik-a-Tee, Tik-a-Tay

2. Senza Fine

3. Who’s Got the Action

4. Guys and Dolls

5. Everybody Loves Somebody 

6. The Door Is Still Open to My Heart 

7. You’re Nobody ’Til Somebody Loves You

8. In the Misty Moonlight 

9. Send Me the Pillow You Dream On

10. In the Chapel in the Moonlight

11. Welcome to My World 

12. I Will 

13. Somewhere There’s a Someone 

14. My First Country Song (featuring Conway Twitty) 

15. L.A. Is My Home


Live From Lake Tahoe (CD 3)

1. Drink to Me Only With Thine Eyes

2. Almost Like Being in Love

3. I Love Tahoe (Paris)

4. Show Banter #1

5. My Kind of Girl 

6. Show Banter #2

7. Show Banter #3

8. June in January 

9. Show Banter #4

10. Break It to Me Gently 

11. Show Banter #5

12. Rock-a-Bye Your Baby With a Dixie Melody 

13. Instrumental

14. Show Banter #6

15. Primrose Lane/You Are Too Beautiful/Carolina in the Morning/Love Walked In/I Love Being a Girl 

16. Beautiful Dreamer

17. You Made Me Love You

18. It Had to Be You/Nevertheless

19. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter 

20. Volare 

21. On an Evening in Roma

22. Show Banter #7

23. I Love Paris (Tahoe)

24. Outro


Dean Marin Live in London (DVD):

1. Everybody Loves Somebody

2. Drink to Me Only With Thine Eyes

3. When You’re Smiling

4. Pennies From Heaven

5. L-O-V-E

6. Everybody Loves Somebody (reprise)

7. Where or When

8. Welcome to My World

9. Drinking Champagne

10. That’s Amore

11. Love Walked In

12. Please Be Kind

13. It’s Magic

14. Ken’s Noodle

15. Bad, Bad Leroy Brown

16. For the Good Times

17. Here Comes My Baby Back Again

18. Little Ole Wine Drinker Me

19. Bumming Around

20. One Hour With You