DGA Awards Documentary Nominations Announced

Hal Wilson
"Searching for Sugar Man"

Kelsey Grammer will host the 65th annual event Feb. 2.

The Directors Guild of America on Monday announced the documentary nominees for its annual DGA Awards. They are Kirby Dick for The Invisible War; Malik Bendjelloul for Searching for Sugar Man; Lauren Greenfield for The Queen of Versailles; David France for How to Survive a Plague; and Alison Klayman for Ai WeiWei: Never Sorry.

All five filmmakers are first-time DGA Award nominees.

Their films range across various social issues and spotlight a number of vivid personalities. Dick's Invisible War examines the problem of rape in the U.S military, while France's Plague recounts how ACT-UP and other activist group confronted the AIDS epidemic. Bendjelloul's Sugar Man tells the story of singer/songwriter Sixto Rodriguez, who became a star in South Africa even as he lived an anonymous life at home in Detroit; Greenfield's Versailles looks at David and Jackie Siegel, a noveau riche family whose fortunes were impacted by the fiscal crisis; and Klayman's WeiWei profiles the Chinese artist and dissident Ai WeiWei.

Of the five features, The Invisible War, How to Survive a Plague and Searching for Sugar Man also have been nominated for the Academy Award, along with Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi's 5 Broken Cameras and Dror Moreh's The Gatekeepers.

The 65th annual DGA Awards will be held Feb. 2 in the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. Kelsey Grammer will host the event for a second consecutive year.

The nominees for the Directors Guild of America Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary for 2012 are (in alphabetical order):
The Invisible War
Rise Film
Fork Films
Cuomo Cole Productions
Canal Plus
Chain Camera Pictures
Searching For Sugar Man
Sony Pictures Entertainment
Passion Pictures Production
Canfield Pictures & The Documentary Company
Red Box Films
The Queen of Versailles
Magnolia Pictures
Evergreen Pictures
BBC Storyville
Impact Partners
Candescent Films
Plus Pictures
Queen of Versailles, LLC
How To Survive A Plague
Public Square Films
Ford Foundation/Justfilms Impact Partners
How to Survive a Plague, LLC
Ai WeiWei: Never Sorry
United Expression Media
Muse Film and Television
Never Sorry, LLC

The nominees for feature film were announced on Jan. 8. They were Ben Affleck, for Argo; Kathryn Bigelow, Zero Dark Thirty; Tom Hooper, Les Miserables; Ang Lee, Life of Pi; and Steven Spielberg, Lincoln. Read more about the film nominees here.

The nominations for TV and commercials were announced on Jan. 9. Read more about the TV and commercial nominees here.