DGA to Honor Lee Blaine and Vince DeDario With Special Awards

Two special awards will be given to the honorees at the 66th annual event on Jan. 25, 2014.

Lee Blaine and Vince DeDario will be honored with special awards at the 66th annual DGA Awards on Jan. 25, 2014, Directors Guild of America president Paris Barclay announced Tuesday.

“The strength of the DGA is built upon the commitment and dedication of our actively working members to giving back through service to the Guild,” said Barclay. “Both Lee Blaine and Vince DeDario have been staunch advocates and proud representatives of their fellow Guild members, and they’ve done it while maintaining successful, demanding careers.  We are proud to recognize their service and their accomplishments.”

Blaine will be presented with the Frank Capra Achievement Award. Joining the DGA in 1990, Blaine has worked on thousands of commercials as 1st or 2nd assistant director. His directing credits include commercials for Energizer, Taco Bell and Budweiser. He has also been committed to increasing the participation of DGA members working in commercials over the past decade.

Previous recipients of this award include Susan Zwerman, Katy E. Garretson, Cleve Landsberg and Kim Kurumada.

DeDario will receive the Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award. He was the associate director on American Bandstand in 1974 and worked on some of the world's biggest sporting events including the Olympics, the Super Bowl, Monday Night Football and the World Series, when he was at ABC Sports. He also covered the 1982 and 1984 elections and the 1985 Presidential Inauguration for ABC News. After he retired from ABC Sports in 2007, he worked on events for ESPN and NBC Sports.

Dency Nelson, Dennis W. Mazzocco,Maria Jimenez Henley,and Scott Berger are past recipients of this award.