Diane Keaton to Get AFI Life Achievement Award

AP Images/Invision
Diane Keaton

The Oscar-winning actress becomes the 45th recipient of the honor.

“La-dee-da,” as her signature character Annie Hall might say: Diane Keaton will be the 45th recipient of the AFI Life Achievement Award, the American Film Institute board of trustees announced Thursday.

The award will be presented to the Oscar-winning actress at a gala tribute on June 8 in Los Angeles and will be subsequently broadcast by Turner Broadcasting on TNT, followed by encore presentations on sister network Turner Classic Movies.

Keaton, 70, has been nominated for four best actress Academy Awards, winning the Oscar for 1977’s Annie Hall, one of a series of movies she starred in for Woody Allen that Include Sleeper, Love and Death and Manhattan. She starred opposite Al Pacino as Kay Corleone in Francis Ford Coppola’s Godfather movies. Her film credits also include dramatic performances in Looking for Mr. Goodbar, Reds, The Little Drummer Girl and Marvin’s Room as well as comic turns in Father of the Bride, The First Wives Club and Something’s Gotta Give. She recently voiced Dory’s mom in the animated Finding Dory and will next be seen in the HBO series The Young Pope.

Known for her idiosyncratic sense of style as well as her forays into photography, art books and architectural preservation, Keaton also has directed such features as Unstrung Heroes and Hanging Up.

“Diane Keaton is one of the most beloved leading ladies of American film,” Howard Stringer, chair of the AFI Board of Trustees, said in announcing the honor. “Peerless in her mastery of both comedy and drama, she has won the world’s heart time and again by creating characters of both great strength and vulnerability. Her career as a director and producer is even further evidence of her passion for the art form and her seemingly boundless talents.”

Keaton is the ninth woman to receive the award, which recognizes “one whose talent has in a fundamental way advanced the film art; whose accomplishment has been acknowledged by scholars, critics, professional peers and the general public; and whose work has stood the test of time.”

A complete list of the previous recipients follows:

1973   John Ford

1974   James Cagney

1975   Orson Welles

1976   William Wyler

1977   Bette Davis

1978   Henry Fonda

1979   Alfred Hitchcock

1980   James Stewart

1981   Fred Astaire

1982   Frank Capra

1983   John Huston

1984   Lillian Gish

1985   Gene Kelly

1986   Billy Wilder

1987   Barbara Stanwyck

1988   Jack Lemmon

1989   Gregory Peck

1990   David Lean

1991   Kirk Douglas

1992   Sidney Poitier

1993   Elizabeth Taylor
1994   Jack Nicholson

1995   Steven Spielberg

1996   Clint Eastwood

1997   Martin Scorsese

1998   Robert Wise

1999   Dustin Hoffman

2000   Harrison Ford

2001   Barbra Streisand

2002   Tom Hanks

2003   Robert De Niro

2004   Meryl Streep

2005   George Lucas

2006   Sean Connery

2007   Al Pacino

2008   Warren Beatty

2009   Michael Douglas

2010   Mike Nichols

2011   Morgan Freeman

2012   Shirley MacLaine

2013   Mel Brooks
2014   Jane Fonda
2015   Steve Martin
2016   John Williams