Doc Filmmaker Alex Gibney to be Honored by WGA West

Alex Gibney - H 2013
Getty Images

Alex Gibney - H 2013

The director of "We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks" will receive the Paul Selvin Award on Feb. 1.

Alex Gibney, the prolific documentary filmmaker behind We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks, will be honored with the Paul Selvin Award at the 2014 Writers Guild Awards West Coast ceremony on Feb. 1.

Gibney, whose other films include Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room and The Armstrong Lie, will receive the award at the event at the JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE.

Named after the late Paul Selvin, who served as counsel to the WGAW, the award is given to a WGA member whose script best embodies the spirit of constitutional and civil rights and liberties.  

PHOTOS: Inside THR's First Documentarian Roundtable

"Alex Gibney is one of the foremost documentary filmmakers of this generation. His work has been a filmic conscience for our times. In We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks, Mr. Gibney tackles issues arising out of us living, increasingly, in a surveillance state -- from the public’s right to know and the press’ right to publish, to the treatment of whistleblowers. The work raises questions that are fundamental to the preservation of our constitutional and civil rights and liberties,” said WGAW president Christopher Keyser in a statement.

Gibney's 2008 film about the Bush administration's policy on torture, Taxi to the Dark Side, won an Oscar for best feature-length documentary. His 2006 film Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room also received an Oscar nom.

Previous recipients of the award include Eric Roth, Michael Mann, Larry Karaszewski & Scott Alexander, Jason Horwitch, Don Payne, Robert Eisele & Jeffrey Porro, Dustin Lance Black, Anthony Peckham, Tate Taylor and Tony Kushner.