Doorpost to name top three short films

Winners picked by industry pros to be revealed Sept. 19

The second annual Doorpost Film Project will hand out $175,000 in prize money when winners of the short film contest are announced Sept. 19 at the Belcourt Theatre in Nashville, Tenn.

Ten finalists, who were chosen earlier this year, were each given $30,000 to produce 15-20 minute films.

On Sept. 19, a new committee of industry professionals -- directors Catherine Hardwicke and Dan Ireland; producers Ralph Winter, Todd Black and Fred Roos; screenwriter Larry Lasker; journalists James Greenberg and Sharon Waxman; attorney Michael Donaldson; cinematographer Nancy Schreiber; and producer's rep Jeff Dowd -- will choose the three top winners, who will all receive cash prizes.

The public can also watch the competing films and vote at

All 10 films will be screened next Thursday at the Belcourt Theatre.

"This project was created for filmmakers who have a vision for life, a passion for filmmaking and the determination to get their creations seen," said Nathan Elliot, director of the Doorpost Film project.