Doty sits in Caucus chair


Veteran TV producer Dennis Doty, longtime partner in Cates/ Doty Prods., has been elected chair of the Caucus for Television Producers, Writers & Directors, replacing Vin Di Bona.

Doty, who is producing ABC's Regis Philbin-hosted preshow for the 80th Annual Academy Awards, will head the caucus in a two-year term. He joins newly elected co-chairs Bill Blinn, Lionel Chetwynd and Di Bona, who served two terms as chair; treasurer John Moffitt; and secretary Herman Rush.

In his first order of business, Doty announced Thursday an expansion of the caucus to include members working in the new-media sector. The move resulted in the organization changing its name to the Caucus for Producers, Writers & Directors, an Alliance of Television & New Media Content Creators.

"With this expansion, the caucus now welcomes membership applications from a wider group of younger executives who are increasingly gaining attention for creative new approaches for product creation and dissemination throughout the industry," Doty said.

He added that the move will open the door for new caucus seminars.

Meanwhile, the caucus also elected 10 new members of the Steering Committee to two-year terms: Don Bellisario, Gil Cates, Suzanne de Passe, Bob Finkel, David Gerber, Roger Gimbel, Gary Grossman, Norman Powell, Robb Weller and Michael Zinberg. Alternates, serving for one year, are Dave Bell, John Berzner, Kathy Cotter, Frank Desiderio, Al Fisher and Stephen Pullin. Steering Committee members continuing for one more year are Chuck Fries, Sally Hampton, Fay Kanin and Dorothea Petrie.